SP opposes transfer of 4 Pangasinan towns to SSS branch in Tarlac

August 4, 2015 5:23 am 

LINGAYEN, Pangasinan, Aug. 3 — The Sangguniang Panlalawigan (SP) has asked the Social Security System (SSS) to stop the transfer of four towns in the 2nd Congressional District of Pangasinan under the SSS branch in Camiling, Tarlac.

The four towns of Aguilar, Basista, Mangatarem and Urbiztondo were originally under the functional jurisdiction of the SSS branch in Alaminos City but for unknown reason, they were transferred to the Camiling Branch.

Expressing the province’s full support to the sentiments of the local chief executives, Gov. Amado T. Espino, Jr. has urged the SP for the immediate approval of Provincial Resolution No. 1462-2015 calling for the return of their towns under the jurisdiction of the SSS Alaminos Branch.

In a resolution approved on August 3, the SP said SSS Alaminos Branch is serving the 1st and 2nd Congressional Districts of Pangasinan and based on geographical and political categorization, the four towns belong to the 2nd District and therefore must be served by the Alaminos Branch.

Noting that the SSS is considered as one of the front line services of the national government, Board Members Nestor D. Reyes and Raul P. Sison, authors of the resolution, said that the agency is mandated to provide a social security protection to workers in the private sector, wage earners and self-employed individuals.

The SP members said the transfer of their town to another SSS branch is tantamount to dismembering the territorial integrity of the province of Pangasinan.

The SP added SSS move to transfer the branch area from Pangasinan to Camiling would also imply that the acquisition of data will be cumbersome in the preparation of investment plan of the province considering that data has to be secured in another province. (PNA)



Comments are closed.