Palace suspends work in gov’t offices in Metro Manila, 15 provinces

September 19, 2014 10:27 am 

MANILA, Sept. 19 — Malacanang on Friday suspended work in government agencies in Metro Manila and nearby 15 provinces due to floods and heavy rains caused by tropical storm “Mario.”

Deputy Presidential Spokesperson Abigal Valte said that Executive Secretary Paquito N. Ochoa, Jr. issued the order to suspend work in government offices, except for those agencies whose work involves the delivery of basic and health services, disaster response and other vital public services.

The following areas are covered by the suspension: — Metro Manila — Zambales — Bataan — Pampanga — Tarlac — Nueva Ecija — Bulacan — Rizal — Cavite — Batangas — Laguna — Quezon, including Polillo Island, — Mindoro Provinces — Camarines Norte — Marinduque — Pangasinan

For the private sector, Valte said the discretion to suspend work lies with the individual companies and employers.

”We urge employers to consider the circumstances of their employees brought about by the effects of Tropical Storm Mario,” she said. (PNA)



Comments are closed.