42 dead, 8 missing in Mindanao due to 'Agaton' — NDRRMC

January 21, 2014 12:12 pm 

MANILA, Jan. 21 — The National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) on Tuesday reported 42 deaths and 800,000 affected individuals from flooding and landslides in Mindanao brought by tropical depression "Agaton" which has now weakened into low pressure area (LPA).

The NDRRMC partial official death toll showed 18 deaths in Region 11 or Davao Region; 19 in Caraga Region; four in Region 10 (Northern Mindanao); and one in Region 9 (Zamboanga Peninsula). Most of the deaths are attributable to landslides and drowning, it said.

The NDRRMC also said the number of injured persons remains at 65, while eight are still missing in Regions 9, 10, 11 and Caraga.

Damage caused by the tropical depression was estimated to P367.12 million, including P128.513 million in infrastructure and P238.6 million in agriculture in Regions 10, 11 and Caraga.

In its 6:00 a.m. update Tuesday, NDDRMC said that 168,492 families or 809,606 persons were affected in 804 barangays in 103 municipalities in 15 provinces of Regions 10 (Northern Mindanao), 11 (Davao Region), Caraga and Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).

Of these, 43,417 families or 203,022 persons were displaced and being served inside 565 evacuation centers.

The NDRRMC also said 2,950 passengers of 26 vessels, 636 rolling cargoes and seven motorized bancas were still stranded in the ports of Cebu; Dumaguete; Tagbilaran; Catbalogan; Maasin; Camarines Sur; Sorsogon; and Masbate as of 6:00 p.m. Monday.

It added that 50 roads and 25 bridges were rendered impassable in Regions 8, 10, 11 and Caraga.

The NDRRMC said the number of damages houses increased to 2,017 — with totally damaged houses reaching 739 while 1,278 were partially damaged.

The disaster agency reported 16 incidents of landslides, six flooding and flash floods, and two maritime incidents in Regions 8, 9, 10, 11, Caraga and ARMM.

It added that total cost of government assistance for the affected families has reached P59.369 million worth of relief goods from the combined resources of the Department of Social and Welfare Development (DSWD) that allocated P15.5 million; local government units (LGUs) in Regions 11 and Caraga amounting to P43.224 million and Department of Health (DOH) allocating P647,572.

Meanwhile, more areas were placed under a state of calamity — the latest including the province of Agusan del Norte; San Francisco, Agusan del Sur; Esperanza, Agusan del Sur; Veruela, Agusan del Sur; Trento, Agusan del Sur; Rosario, Agusan del Sur; and Jabonga, Agusan del Norte. (PNA)



Comments are closed.