PNP director: Region 7 has 81 election watch list areas

April 18, 2013 10:19 pm 

DUMAGUETE CITY, April 18 -– Region 7, comprising the Central Visayas provinces of Cebu, Bohol, Negros Oriental and Siquijor, has a total of 81 election watch list areas (EWAs) that are to be closely monitored in the upcoming May 13 polls.

This was disclosed by Chief Supt. Marcelo Garbo, Jr., regional director of the Philippine National Police (PNP) on Thursday during his visit to Negros Oriental.

According to Chief Supt. Garbo, the province of Bohol tops the EWAs list with 48, followed by Cebu with 14, Negros Oriental with 13 and Siquijor with six areas.

The categorization of these election watch list areas is due to historical data that show previous intense political rivalry and/or the presence of threat groups such as the New People’s Army, said Garbo.

The areas in Negros Oriental with “critical” barangays that are included in the list are Canlaon City, Bayawan City, Tanjay City, Jimalalud, Basay, Tayasan, Siaton, Zamboanguita, Guihulngan, La Libertad, Bacong, Valencia and Sta. Catalina, official PNP records showed.

Chief Supt. Garbo said the regional joint peace and security coordinating center (JPSCC) will be meeting next week in Cebu to re-assess the security plans submitted by the PNP and other law enforcement agencies.

The identification of the election watch list areas in the region is based on the validation of the regional intelligence community, said Garbo.

Meanwhile, Chief Supt. Garbo said he believes that the PNP in Region 7 is prepared for the May 13 mid-term elections after all units under his command had submitted their individual security plans. (PNA)



One Response to “PNP director: Region 7 has 81 election watch list areas”

  1. julie vomberg on April 25th, 2013 8:11 am

    sana kasama sa Anda,Bohol sa EWAs list,para maiwasan yung kaiba ibang bagay na pueding mangyari na naman uli,.this Municipality has been govern by the same leaders since 25 years!