Cotabato City poll chief moves to Marawi, 4 poll officials take his seat

April 8, 2013 10:28 pm 

COTABATO CITY, April 8 — The Commission on Elections in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao(ARMM) has assigned four election officers from Lanao del Sur to Cotabato City to administer the conduct of peaceful and orderly national and local elections.

Lawyer Michael Ygnes, acting Cotabato City election officer, was transferred to Marawi City as part of the poll body's reshuffing program.

Lawyer Ray Sumalipao, Comelec-ARMM regional director, said Atty. Farouk Kasira, Jamil Lawangon, Misalungan Pugala and Ismael Mondalano will move to Cotabato City beginning Tuesday.

Sumalipao explained that Atty. Kasira will serve as chair of the city board of canvassers with his three subordinates as members.

Since the campaign period began, no election-related violence was reported, according to Sumalipao even as he expects the same thing will continue to happen until election day.

The mayoralty race in the city is between re-electionist City Mayor Japal Guiani, Jr. and incumbent Vice Mayor Muslimin Sema.

Incumbent Councilor Willie Bueno, a lawyer and among the first elected councilors of the 1st Sangguniang Panglungsod of Cotabato City in 1956, is running as vice mayor under the Liberal Party.

Incumbent Councilor Abdullah Andang is Guiani's running mate under the United Nationalist Alliance. (PNA)



Comments are closed.