De Lima nominated for Chief Justice

June 11, 2012 9:44 pm 

MANILA, June 11 – Department of Justice (DOJ) Secretary Leila M. De Lima was nominated on Monday to the position of Chief Justice of the Supreme Court (SC).

The Chief Justice position was vacated with the impeachment of former Chief Justice Renato C. Corona for culpable violation of the Constitution and betrayal of public trust on May 29, 2012.

Dante Jimenez, Volunteers Against Crime and Corruption (VACC) founding chairman, confirmed on Monday that he has submitted the nomination of De Lima to the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC).

Likewise, the Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP) Zambales Chapter also on Monday recommended the nomination of De Lima as Chief Justice of the SC.

IBP-Zambales said that De Lima has the competence, professional qualifications and ethical standards to serve as Chief Justice.

They said that De Lima's elevation to the SC would likely contribute significantly to reshaping Philippine jurisprudence in a direction that would protect and strengthen the fundamental rights of the people.

De Lima is reportedly one of the early strong contenders to the top judicial post.

Other nominees to the position of Chief Justice are Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR) Commissioner Kim S. Jacinto-Henares, Atty. Katrina Legarda, former Ateneo De Manila College of Law Dean Cesar Villanueva, Solicitor General Francis Jardeleza, former University of the Philippines (UP) College of Law Dean Raul Pangalangan and former Laguna Assistant Prosecutor Marianito Sasondocillo.

The five most senior Associate Justices of the SC are automatically nominated to the Chief Justice post.

They are acting Chief Justice Antonio T. Carpio, and Associate Justices Presbitero Velasco, Jr., Teresita Leonardo-De Castro, Arturo Brion and Diosdado Peralta.

The period of application and nomination for the Chief Justice position will be until June 18, 2012. (PNA)



Comments are closed.