AFP chief says TOPS award a great morale booster for soldiers

June 11, 2012 9:44 pm 

MANILA, June 11 — Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) chief-of-staff Gen. Jessie Dellosa hailed on Monday the Metrobank Foundation Inc. and the Rotary Club of Makati Metro for its "The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers" (TOPS) award, saying that such citations has proven very effective in boosting the morale of their troopers.

"The award (TOPS) exemplifies the best in the Filipino soldiery," Dellosa added.

He noted that TOPS also shows to the public that soldiers can be effective servants in community development aside from their usual role of defending the people and the state from internal and external attacks.

"TOPS also show the positive side of our soldiers," Dellosa stressed.

Included in this year's TOPS awardees are: Col. Milfredo M. Melegrito, M/Sgt. Juana R. Hernal and T/Sgt. Rolando L. Diomangay, all from the Philippine Army; Fleet Capt. Erick A. Kagaoan, Engineman Second Class Arce D. Balasabas and Engineman Third Class Ricky R. Burgos from the Philippine Navy; Lt. Col. Antonio Z. Francisco Jr., Senior M/Sgt. Augusto D. Reyes and M/Sgt. Emerito R. Angcao from the Philippine Air Force; and Col. Raul J. Tangco from the Technical and Administrative Services -– Corps of Professors.

“We are proud to present to the entire nation 10 of the most dedicated and accomplished members of the AFP,” Metrobank Foundation president Aniceto M. Sobrepeña said.

“More than being the private sector’s expression of gratitude to the sacrifices of our soldiers, TOPS also highlights the contributions of the men and women of the military, as vanguards of peace and democracy, to nation building and development,” he added.

The awardees will be feted together with the winners of the Search for Outstanding Teachers (SOT) and the Country’s Outstanding Policemen in Service (COPS) dubbed as the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos during the Metrobank’s 50th anniversary celebration on Sept. 5.

TOPS winners will receive a cash prize of P300,000 and a trophy courtesy of the Metrobank Foundation.

The awardees were selected by a multisectoral Final Board of Judges chaired by Sandiganbayan Presiding Justice Francisco H. Villaruz Jr.

The Metrobank Foundation, along with the Rotary Club of Makati Metro, annually holds the Search for TOPS to honor the gallant men and women of the AFP who go beyond their call of duty and to highlight their achievements and efforts towards achieving peace and building the nation. (PNA) scs/PFN


Comments are closed.