Malacanang announces new appointments

May 4, 2012 10:02 pm 

MANILA, May 4 — President Benigno S. Aquino III has nominated Patricia Ann V. Paez as Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to the Republic of Poland and appointed new officials in various government agencies, a Malacanang official said on Friday.

The announcement was made by Deputy Presidential Spokesperson Abigail Valte during the regular press briefing in the Palace on Friday.

Paez graduated Bachelor of Arts, Major in Anthropology, from the University of the Philippines in 1976 and obtained her Master of Arts in International Relations, Major in Strategic Studies, from the Australian National University in 1982.

She served as First Secretary and Consul and Press and Information Officer at the Philippine Embassy in Washington, D.C., United States (1999-2008); Third Secretary and Vice Consul/Administrative Officer, then Second Secretary and Consul/Press Officer in 2000.

Paez also worked as Assistant Secretary, Office of American Affairs (2010-2012); Presidential Assistant for the Foreign Affairs, Office of the President (2008-2010); Principal Assistant (1998-1999); Presidential Adviser for Foreign Affairs Executive Assistant, Office of the President (1997-1998), and Special Assistant in 1993.

President Aquino appointed Julita V. Toledo as chairperson of the Board of Respiratory Therapy which is under the administrative supervision and control of the Professional Regulation Commission, for a term of three years. Also appointed as board members were Senen O. Teope, for a term of two years, and Jesus M. Espinas, for a term of one year.

The Chief Executive appointed Feroisa Francisca T. Concordia as Director III of the Public-Private Partnership Center of the Philippines under the National Economic and Development Authority. She replaced Rina P. Alzate and her term is co-terminus with the appointing authority.

The other appointees are Rex L. Bingabing as Executive Director of the Philippine Center for Postharvest Development and Mechanization under the Department of Agriculture; Minda B. Brigoli as Director IV of the Department of Social Welfare and Development; Peter Paul Reuben G. Galvez as Acting Director IV of the Department of National Defense; and Eduardo M. Chu as member of the Board of Directors of the Philippine Fisheries Development Authority to replace Alfonso L. Tan.

Chu will serve Tan's unexpired term ending on June 30, 2012.

The Chief Executive also signed the appointment of Liwayway T. Mendoza as Acting Director III of the Bureau of Customs. She obtained her Bachelor of Science (General) and Bachelor of Science in Pyschology degrees from the University of Santo Tomas in 1975. She also took up Master in Management major in Public Administration from the Philippine Christian University in 1999.

Prior to her appointment, Mendoza served as Customs Chief Operations Officer and Acting Director of the Bureau of Customs' Financial Management Office. (PNA)



Comments are closed.