DOJ names four prosecutors in electoral sabotage raps vs. Arroyo, 2 others

January 20, 2012 11:39 pm 

MANILA, Jan. 20 – The Department of Justice (DOJ) has designated four prosecutors to help in the prosecution of former President and now Pampanga (2nd District) Rep. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, former Commission on Elections (Comelec) Chair Benjamin Abalos, Sr., and former Maguindanao Gov. Andal Ampatuan, Sr. in the electoral sabotage charges filed against them before the Pasay City Regional Trial Court (RTC).

This was in compliance with the resolution of the Comelec en banc deputizing the DOJ prosecutors to help the prosecution team of the Comelec in the electoral sabotage charges against the former president and the two other respondents.

In Department Order No. 049 dated Jan. 19, 2012, DOJ Secretary Leila De Lima designated DOJ Assistant State Prosecutor Mari Elvira Herrera; Pasay City Assistant City Prosecutor Orlando Mariano; and DOJ Associate Prosecution Attorneys Gerard Gaerlan and Mark Roland Estepa to help in the prosecution of the said electoral sabotage charges.

The four DOJ prosecutors will be under the control and supervision of the Comelec prosecution team. (PNA)



Comments are closed.