Speaker bares more committee chairmanships

August 27, 2010 10:58 am 

By Lilybeth G. Ison

MANILA, Aug. 26 — Speaker Feliciano "Sonny" Belmonte Jr. on Thursday bared the completion of the committee chairmanships of the House of Representatives.

In his weekly press conference, Belmonte said that for the first time, he had appointed a party-list representatives to be a member of the Commission on Appointments (CA).

"For the first time, I decided to give one seat to the party-list representatives in recognition to their numbers (in the House of Representatives) and this went to Congressman Rodante Marcoleta, a three-term congressman of Alagad party-list," he said.

Around 20 percent of the members of the Lower Chamber are party-list representatives.

Paranaque Rep. Roilo Golez will head the House contingent of the powerful Commission on Appointments. Its members include Reps. Antonio del Rosario (Capiz), Rosendo Labdlabad (Zamboanga del Norte), Irineo Maliksi (Cavite), Rex Gatchalian (Valenzuela City), Luis Villafuerte (Camarines Sur), Ferjenel Biron (Iloilo), Rodolfo Antonino (Nueva Ecija), Antonio Alvarez (Palawan), Pedro Romualdo (Camiguin), and Simeon Datumanong (Maguindanao).

The Speaker said they have also completed the list of other committee chairmanships, which include Biliran Rep. Rogelio Espina for the committee on population; Bohol Rep. Erico Aumentado for the ethics committee; Manila Rep. Benjamin Asilo for the committee on people's participation; Negros Occidental Rep. Jeffrey Ferrer for the land use committee; and Bayan Muna party-list Rep. Teodoro Casino for the committee on small business and enterpreneurship development.

The House leadership also divulged members of the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal (HRET) — Reps. Franklin Bautista (Davao del Sur), Rufus Rodriguez (Cagayan de Oro City), Joselito Mendoza (Bulacan), Justin Chipeco (Laguna), and Ma. Theresa Bonuan-David (Manila).

At present, there are 56 disqualification cases filed before the HRET. (PNA) RMA/LGI


Comments are closed.