Senate holds announcement of CA members

August 19, 2010 10:53 am 

MANILA, Aug. 18 – The anticipated announcement on Wednesday of senators to be members of the powerful Commission on Appointments (CA) did not materialize after minority leader Alan Peter Cayetano questioned his exclusion from the list.

Cayetano insisted that the selection should be made through proportional political party representation which, if followed, would grant the Nacionalista Party three and a half seats based on two senators one seat ratio.

”If you look at the political grouping, we are assured of 3.5 seats. The Supreme Court is always a party. I’m just citing the right of the political party and position of the Constitution,” Cayetano said.

Aside from Cayetano, other members of the NP in the Senate include Senators Manny Villar, Miriam Defensor Santiago, Joker Arroyo, Pia Cayetano, Bongbong Marcos and Loren Legarda.

Based on the present list which was supposed to be announced Wednesday, Villar, Santiago and Arroyo will represent the Nacionalista.

From the majority bloc, the CA members include Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile, Senators Edgardo Angara, Gringo Honasan, Serge Osmena III, Chiz Escudero, Ralph Recto, Franklin Drilon and Bong Revilla.

Enrile said he is ready to take responsibility in the selection of the senators to the CA, challenging Cayetano to go the court if he feels the Senate President violated the law.

However, Cayetano said he is hoping to settle the issue before Monday when Senate Majority Floor Leader Vicente Sotto is expected to announce to the floor the CA composition. (PNA)



Comments are closed.