Naga City Mayor Robredo now DILG secretary

July 9, 2010 9:41 pm 

MANILA, July 9 — Multi-awarded and three-term Mayor of Naga City Jesse M. Robredo was named today the Secretary of the Department of Interior and Local Government by President Benigno S. Aquino III.

This just about completes the Cabinet of President Aquino, with the exception of the Office of the Press Secretary, which he intends to reorganize and rename the Presidential Communications Office.

Robredo is the first and only Filipino Mayor to receive the Ramon Magsaysay Award for Government Service in 2000. He was elected mayor of Naga City in 1988 at the age of 29, making him the youngest city mayor at that time.

Under his leadership, Naga City was adjudged one of the “most improved cities in Asia” by Asiaweek Magazine in 1999.

In 1995, he was elected president of the League of Cities of the Philippines, the national association of city mayors.

Robredo obtained his undergraduate degree in Industrial Management engineering and Mechanical Engineering at the De La Salle University.

He was an Edward Mason Fellow and a graduate of Masters in Public Administration at the John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University in Cambridge, Massachusetts in 1999.

In 1985, Robredo finished his masters in Business Administration at the UP Diliman as a scholar and was named the Graduate School and Faculty Organization awardee for scholarly excellence.

On returning home to Naga City in 1986, he was appointed Program Director of the Bicol River Basin Development Program, an agency tasked to undertake integrated area development planning in the region.

Aside from the 2000 Ramon Magsaysay Award for government service, Robredo received up to 20 awards in his lifetime, among them the following: 1998 the Konrad Adenauer Medal of Excellence as Most Outstanding City Mayor of the Philippines; in 1996 the Outstanding Young Persons of the World Award; in 1990 the Outstanding Young Men of the Philippines (TOYM) Award and the first ever Dangal ng Bayan Award of the Civil Service Commission.

In March 2008, he was conferred an honorary Doctor of Humanities degree by the Far Eastern University in Manila. (PNA) LOR/OPS/ssc


Comments are closed.