No proclamation of additional party-list winners this month – Comelec‏

June 15, 2010 8:15 pm 

MANILA, June 15 – The Commission on Elections (Comelec) can not proclaim the remaining party-list groups that would occupy the 22 seats at the House of Representatives this month an official said Tuesday.

Comelec Commissioner Rene Sarmiento said they cannot make an announcement this month as they have to conduct special elections in some areas.

“We cannot do it by June 30, maybe in July,” he said, adding that, “There are still thousands of votes in these areas so we have to wait for them before we can come up with a final list of our party-list organizations that will sit in Congress… they would matter also in the computation of the votes.”

Although, he confirmed that the sectoral representatives will not be completed when President-elect Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III assumes office, he assured that the party-list representatives will be completed when the Chief Executive, conducts his first State of the Nation Address (SONA) on July 26.

On May 31, the Comelec en banc, sitting as the National Board of Canvassers (NBoC), proclaimed the first 28 groups that will occupy a total of 35 seats in the Lower House.

Under the party-list system, party-list representatives must comprise 20 percent of the House membership, or a total of 57 seats.

A party is entitled to one seat upon getting the two percent threshold, four percent would entitle them to two seats while the maximum seat that a group could get is three seats representing six percent of the total votes casts.

However, if the 57 seats have yet to be filled up by those who have met the required percentages, those groups/organizations running next in the race despite not meeting the two percent requirement will be allocated with one seat each.

Among the groups that could possibly be proclaimed are those that have been deferred earlier by the commission due to pending disqualification cases against either the party-list group or their nominees, namely top vote-getter Ako Bicol Political Party; Buhay Hayaan Yumabong Party-list; 1st Consumers Alliance for Rural Energy (1-CARE); Citizens' Battle Against Corruption (CIBAC); LPG Marketers Association, Inc. (LPGMA); Ang Asosayon Sang Manguguma Nga Bisaya-Ow Mangunguma, Inc. (MBIS-OWA); Association of Philippine Electric Cooperatives (APEC); Alliance for Nationalism and Democracy (ANAD); 1-UTAK; Advocacy for Teacher Empowerment Through Action Cooperation and Harmony Towards Educational Reforms (A Teacher); and Butil Farmer Party (BUTIL).

Also in the running are the next 20 groups in the latest tally, such as AT (176,074 votes); Adhikaing-Koop (173,711); ALIF (170,304); ALE (167,654); A-Kasosyo 166,432; Ay Buhay (163,164); KMA-PTM (161,674); Aakbay (160,745); Amin (157,733); VFP (154,183); Araro (147,204); Atong Paglaum (145,435); Pacyaw (143,151); ATM (142,013); Anak (141,780); PM (140,000); ABA (137,842); ATS (136,710); Kaagapay (130,270); and Banat (126,462).

Meanwhile, Sarmiento said that no date has been set for the conduct of special elections in Lanao del Sur, Basilan, Tawi-Tawi, Abra and Sulu.

The registered voters in these areas are estimated to be at 12,000 to 20,000. (PNA) vcs/FGP/utb


Comments are closed.