Roxas contemplating of filing electoral protest

June 8, 2010 7:11 pm 

MANILA, June 8 -– Losing vice presidential candidate senator Mar Roxas revealed on Tuesday the possibility of filing an electoral protest with regards to the big number of null votes in the last May 10 automated elections.

”I’ve instructed my lawyers to get the records and evidence and study and prepare for the possibility of filing an electoral protest,” Roxas said in a press statement.

Roxas said they have 30 days to file the protest not only based on null votes but on lowering of threshold in some areas.

”I will never back out from my sacred obligations to you. It’s my duty to fight an honest and complete counting of votes,” he said.

The outgoing senator settled for second place in the presidential race won by Makati Mayor Jejomar Binay.

Roxas congratulated his running mate senator Benigno ‘Noynoy’ Aquino for winning the presidential contest via a wide margin, promising to help the president-elect “in the success of the Filipino people.”

”I congratulate senator Noynoy Aquino and it is my honor to serve in the success of the Filipino people under the Aquino administration,” Roxas said.

Roxas also expressed appreciation to the more than 14 million Filipino people who voted for him.

The Congress, sitting as the national board of canvassers, completed on Tuesday the canvassing of votes after the counting of the final certificate of canvass from Lanao del Sur.

Based on the final official results, Aquino got the highest votes of 15,208,678 followed by former President Joseph Ejercito Estrada who garnered 9,487,837 votes in second place and senator Manny Villar with 5,573,835 votes in third spot.

Administration bet Gilbert Teodoro finished fourth with 4,095,839 votes followed by Bro. Eddie Villanueva with 1,125,878 votes; senator Richard Gordon, 501,727; Nicanor Perlas, 54,575; senator Ma. Ana Consuelo ‘Jamby’ Madrigal, 46,489; and, JC delos Reyes, 44,244 votes.

Considered as the underdog candidate, Binay surprisingly won the vice presidential race with 14,645,574 votes while top favorite Roxas settled for second place with 13,918,490 followed by senator Loren Legarda who finished third with 4,294,664 votes.

Completing the vice presidential candidates with their tallied votes are Bayani Fernando with 1,017,631 votes; Edu Manzano, 807,728; Perfecto Yasay, 364,652; Jay Sonza, 64,230; and, Dominador Chipeco, 52,562 votes.

The proclamation of Aquino and Binay has been set on Wednesday at 2:00 p.m. at the Batasang Pambansa. (PNA) LOR/jfm


Comments are closed.