Congress confident to finish canvassing by Monday

June 1, 2010 8:35 pm 

By Jelly F. Musico

MANILA, June 1 – The joint congressional canvassing committee expressed optimism on Tuesday to finish the counting of all the 278 certificates of canvass (COCs) by Monday.

”We are happy with the pace of the canvass,” committee co-chairman House Speaker Prospero Nograles said before the board of canvassers took a 20-minute break.

Senate Majority Floor Leader Juan Miguel Zubiri described the canvassing process as “very productive”, having already counted 168 of COCs as of 5:25 p.m. on Tuesday.

Another panel member Rep. Roilo Golez expects the canvassing process to be finished on Monday next week.

”With the speed of the canvassing, I expect it to be finish by Monday,” Golez said.

After the counting of 27 COCs on Tuesday, Liberal Party bet Noynoy Aquino garnered 4,528,799 votes followed by former President Joseph Ejercito Estrada who has 2,468,200 votes and senator Manny Villar with 1,392,058 votes.

Completing the results in the presidential race include: administration bet Gilbert Teodoro with 1,253,732 votes; Bro. Eddie Villanueva 365,345; Gordon with 153,447; Nicanor Perlas, 14,774; Jamby Madrigal 13,433; and, JC delos Reyes, 12,268 votes.

In the vice presidential race, Makati Mayor Jejomar Binay led with 4,131,306 votes followed by Aquino’s running mate Mar Roxas with 4,115,557 and Loren Legarda with 1,639,495 votes.

Former Metropolitan Manila Development Authority chairman Bayani Fernando was in fourth place with 241,543 votes followed by actor Edu Manzano, 228,372; Perfecto Yasay, 110,085; Jay Sonza, 16,615; and, Raul Chipeco with 12,229 votes.

The COCs canvassed so far on Tuesday came from Baguio, Siquijor, Cavite, Negros Oriental, Marinduque, Tarlac City, Mandaluyong, Guimaras, Bataan, Quirino, Cebu, Camarines, Agusan del Norte, Dinagat Island, Tarlac, Zamboanga City, Surigao del Norte, Misamis Oriental, Bulacan, Manila, Zambales, Camiguin and Catanduanes.

The joint congressional canvass committee, meanwhile, summoned the board of canvassers of 12 provinces and cities which failed to electronically transmit their COCs.

Zubiri identified the 12 provinces as Aurora, Biliran, Bukidnon, Cagayan de Oro, Camarines Norte, Davao Oriental, Ilocos Sur, Kalinga, Pampanga, Romblon, Surigao del Sur and San Juan City.

Lanao del Sur also had no electronic transmission of the COCs because it has yet to hold a special election. (PNA) RMA/jfm


Comments are closed.