Legarda concedes defeat in vice presidential race

May 11, 2010 8:01 pm 

MANILA, May 11 – Nacionalista Party and Nationalist People’s Coalition vice presidential candidate Loren Legarda has conceded defeat on Tuesday, one day after the historic first automated elections in the country on Monday.

The winner for vice presidency has yet to be proclaimed but Legarda extended his congratulations to Jejomar Binay who leads Mar Roxas by almost 900,000 votes after garnering 12.8 million votes as of press time.

Legarda, who is in third with over three million votes, has congratulated Liberal Party standard-bearer Noynoy Aquino for winning the presidential race.

”I congratulate senator Aquino and Jojo Binay for their victories,” Legarda said in a press conference.

Legarda promised to spend her three remaining years as senator in approving pro-poor bills including measures for the protection of environment.

”It’s time to end infighting and respect the democracy and unite for the good of our country,” Legarda said.

On the same day that Legarda and NP presidential candidate Manny Villar yielded what they described as a fight well-fought, NP senatorial candidates Adel Tamano, Col. Ariel Querubin and Gilbert Remulla also conceded defeat.

Out of 61 senatorial candidates, Remulla is in the 16th place with over 6.5 million votes while Querubin and Tamano in the 19th and 23rd place with 5.7 and 3.4 million votes, respectively.

As of 4 p.m. on Tuesday, the senatorial candidates occupying the Magic 12 slots are Bong Revilla (16,860,349); Jinggoy Estrada (16,537,725); Miriam Defensor-Santiago (15,096,649); Franklin Drilon (13,808,084); Juan Ponce Enrile (13,666,985); Pia Cayetano (11,942,151); Ferdinand Marcos Jr. (11,531,677); Ralph Recto (10,788,481); Vicente Sotto III (10,365,879); Serge Osmena III (10,106,424) ; Manuel Lapid (9,515,335) and Teofisto Guingona III (8,988,689).

Meanwhile, Bro. Eddie Villanueva of Bangon Pilipinas joined Villar, senator Richard Gordon of Bagumbayan and JC delos Reyes of Kapatiran in conceding defeat to Aquino, the only son of the late President Corazon Aquino. (PNA)



Comments are closed.