13 guns seized in ARMM for gun ban violation

January 26, 2010 11:21 pm 

COTABATO CITY. Jan. 26 – Police in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) have confiscated more than a dozen assorted firearms from gun ban violators in the region.

Chief Insp. Annie Rose Alvarado, Philippine National Police (PNP)-ARMM spokesperson, said the recent arrest was made against a government official in Lanao del Sur who she did not identify.

Citing report from Lanao del Sur police office, Alvarado said the government official yielded a cal. 45 pistol when flagged down at at police checkpoint in Marawi City Monday.

Earlier, police arrested seven police officers, four soldiers and two security guards for violating the election gun ban.

Most of the violators were from Basilan, one of the component provinces of ARMM. Other provinces comprising the region are Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi.

Maguindanao, where martial law was declared and to date still under state of emergency, has no gun ban violator so far, according to Supt. Alex Lineses, acting Maguindanao police director.

Alvarado said the stricter implementation of gun ban will continue until the election is over.

ARMM is home to more than 50,000 loose firearms, including those in the hands of Moro rebel groups, Abu Sayyaf Group, private armed groups and individuals who possess firearms for self defense. (PNA)



Comments are closed.