DFA's policy chief leads four new ambassadors confirmed by CA

October 16, 2009 9:48 am 

MANILA, Oct. 15 — The country has four new ambassadors, led by Foreign Affairs Undersecretary for Policy Enrique A. Manalo, who will be posted soon to their respective assignments following their confirmation on Wednesday by the en banc Commission on Appointments (CA). Manalo will be the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary (AEP) to Belgium, Luxembourg, the Commission of the European Communities and the Council of the European Union.

The other confirmed ambassadors are Assistant Secretary for Legal Affairs Jesus I. Yabes, Assistant Secretary for Fiscal Management and the Chief Coordinator of the Office of the Secretary Mario L. De Leon, Jr., and Chief of Presidential Protocol Jerril G. Santos.

Yabes is assigned to Pakistan with concurrent jurisdiction on Afghanistan, Kyrgyztan, Kazakhstan and Tajikistan. De Leon goes to South Africa with concurrent jurisdiction over Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, and Zimbabwe. Santos moves to Vietnam.

Alongside their confirmation was the promotion of 28 other career officers of the foreign service, led by Blesila C. Cabrera and Cristina G. Ortega as Chiefs of Mission, Class 1.

Elmer G. Cato, currently the spokesperson at the Philippine mission to the United nations in New York, was also confirmed as Foreign Service Officer Class I. (PNA)



Comments are closed.