LGUs to create inter-local environment zone to protect fishery resources

October 5, 2016 10:44 am 

LAOAG CITY, Oct. 5 — At least 16 local chief executives from the coastal and mountainous municipalities of Ilocos Norte are enjoined to sign a covenant which aims to unify efforts for the protection of fishery resources here.

The proposed covenant also seeks to strengthen the implementation of Provincial Ordinance No. 033-2008, an ordinance prescribing regulations on the construction and establishment of structures in creeks, rivers and streams.

In the said ordinance, the concerned local government units (LGUs) shall identify and designate a specific zone for the establishment of structures including aquaculture, fishing areas, migration and navigational lanes in any creek, river, stream lake and other bodies of water within the area of jurisdiction of the city or municipality.

In view of this, the Ilocos Norte board’s committee on laws, environment and agriculture set a public hearing on Oct. 12 inviting the mayors of Pagudpud, Bangui, Dumalneg, Adams, Laoag, San Nicolas, Sarrat, Piddig, Dingras, Solsona, Carasi, Marcos, Banna, Nueva Era, Bacarra and Vintar to share their insights on the proposed creation of interlocal environment zone and ensure a sustainable management of fishery resources in the province.

Earlier, town mayor Lairvee Espiritu of Dumalneg town requested the creation of an interlocal environment zone between the towns of Adams, Pagudpud, Bangui and Dumalneg.

This was later on reviewed by the Office of the Provincial Agriculture Office under its fishery section and drafted a covenant involving other municipalities facing the same fishery concern with that of the northern towns of Ilocos Norte.(PNA)



Comments are closed.