DOT IV-B to commemorate 71st anniversary of Palawan Liberation

April 14, 2016 3:35 am 

By Azer N. Parrocha

MANILA, April 13 (PNA) — The Department of Tourism Region IV-B(DOT IV-B) will hold a special ceremony to commemorate the 71st Anniversary of the Liberation of the island of Palawan during World War II in Puerto Princesa next week.

The provincial government of Palawan, the city of government of Puerto Princesa, Puerto Princesa City Chamber of Commerce, the Palawan Tourism Council, USAID and Rajah Travel Corporation will join DOT-IV-B in the event.

The event, dubbed as “A Salute to Valor: Palawan Liberation,” will be held on April 21 to 23, 2016.

It is meant to honor the brave Filipino and American men and women who fought side-by-side to end the Japanese occupation in Palawan.

Among the highlights of the event are the unveiling of the historical marker in Plaza Cuartel and Iwahig Prison and Penal Farm; wreath laying ceremonies and recognition of Filipino and American war veterans during the gala dinner.

Over 100 American soldiers were killed at the Plaza Cuartel and 1,000 Filipino guerrillas took part in the events leading to this liberation.

DOT IV-B Regional Director Minerva Aldaba Morada expressed excitement over the staging of the event, noting that support from both the public and private sector was vital to raising tourism number.

“This very significant historical event will complement the promotion of Palawan’s outstanding biodiversity of marine life, flora and fauna, pristine islands and the tapestry of the unique culture of its people,” Morada said.

She further said that this would further allow the island to gain worldwide prominence in the international roster of unique attractions and destinations.

Morada said that while connectivity was still an issue in the region, the department continued to coordinate with airlines for additional flights and more arrivals via cruise tourism.

She earlier described cruise tourism as a “way forward” since it did not necessarily require tourists to stay in accommodations. She said that the region also intended to push more accommodations into receiving DOT-accreditation.

Region IV-B or the Mimaropa is composed of five provinces namely Mindoro Occidental, Mindoro Oriental, Marinduque, Romblon and Palawan. (PNA)



Comments are closed.