54 qualified players in Davao Chess Challenge Grand Finals

January 22, 2016 11:01 am 

DAVAO CITY, Jan. 21 — A total of 54 qualified players from last year’s monthly competitions are seeing action in the much-awaited Grand Finals of the Davao Monthly Chess Challenge that will be held on January 30 at the NCCC Food Cove, second floor of NCCC Matina, this city.

“Game one will start at 12:30 noon while the awarding of prizes is at 5 p.m.,” said organizer Manuel “Gogo” Alba.

Among those seeing action are the 12 players who also recently qualified to the Grand Finals of the NCFP National Age-Group Chess Championships in Manila led by veteran international campaigner John Marvin Miciano of Davao City.

Miciano, who won the Under 20 in the recently-held NAG Mindanao Qualifying in Koronadal City, will be seeing action in the U18 category together with Davao’s James Rhey Bantugan (U20 3rd place) and Bhing Joel Gimony (U18 2nd place), General Santos City’s Alberto Diolola Jr. (U18 champion) and Cotabato’s Sumail Iii Sekak (U16 champion).

The other qualifiers in the U18 are David Rose Birinaga, Allan Daven de Asis, Joertz Gimony, Francis Javier Guimalan, Earl Rhey Huliganga, Kurt John Placencia, Tahseen Saludsong, Joshua Noel Tiagan and lone female player Honey Grace Buenafe.

In the Under 18 category are 2015 Araw ng Dabaw champion Gino Angelo Asuncion and runner-up Japheth Aaron Joseph Caresosa.

Pitted in the Under 14 category are Davao’s Blanche Ellyz Bongato (U14 boy 2nd place), Florence Faith Guevarra (U16 girls 2nd place) and Queen Peralta (U14 girls 3rd place). Also seeing action are Ambar Juneeza Ambor, Alrtiz Jefferson Amor, Chris Maynard Ampon, Princess Joy Atupan, Chris Angelo Bactad, Rochelle Althea Dula, Jude Nathaniel Enoc, Niel Sebastian Enoc, Princess Rose Mamparo, Lorie Jean Sumi-og, Jeff Daniel Vitor, Irish Yngayo and Lorraine Yngayo.

Four other players, who also won in the NAG Mindanao Qualifying are playing in the Under 10 division – Panabo’s Sean Kenneth Amor (U10 boys champion) and Ghian Michael Aleria (U8 boys champion), Davao’s Jackie Lou Andoy (U10 girls 2nd place) and Arfred Nathaniel Sanchez (U8 boys 2 place).

The other qualifiers are Jasmine Rei Amoncio, Jirah Loui Andoy, Vneshdyl Bureros, Jude Emmanuel Corage, Christian Anjo Dumogho, John Dale Fernandez, Angel Jhoanna Habangdon, Keihzerhan Ryne Hangad, Alijah Rae Lumangtad, Wesley Joven Magbanua, Caerel Shane Mantilla, Jan Chelsea Mendoza, Charlene Moulic, Ryan Gabriel Rasay, Gabriel John Umayan, Samantha Umayan and Irish Mae Vitor.

“Medals and surprise gift items will be awarded to the winners while three chess sets will also be raffled,” said Alba.

The tournament is also supported by IA James Infiesto, regional director of the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP). Chief Arbiter is RA Joseph Gener Palero who is assisted by CA Ely Acas. (PNA)



Comments are closed.