GM Barbosa dethrones IM Dimakiling in Mindanao Open chess

September 2, 2015 6:07 am 

By Lolito T. delos Reyes

DAVAO CITY, Sept. 1 (PNA) — Grand Master Oliver Barbosa of Manila got the better quotient to dethrone grandslam seeking IM Oliver Dimakiling of Davao City in the 2015 Mindanao Open Chess Championships last Sunday at the Provincial Capitol of North Cotabato in Amas, Kidapawan City.

Barbosa got a Buchholz of 57 ½ against Dimakiling’s 54 only to emerge the new champion in the annual 9-round Swiss System tournament sponsored by the provincial government.

Barbosa and Dimakiling only settled to a draw in the 8th round after earlier whipping IM Emmanuel Senador of Manila and Sherwin Tiu of Cebu, respectively in the 7th round.

NM Raymond Salcedo of Manila finished third with 7.5 points followed by Senador of Manila and NM Alex Lupian of Davao City with identical 7.0 points, who settled for fourth and fifth, respectively.

Bunched in 6th to 8th with similar 6.5 points each were Tiu, Davao’s NM Macacuna Macala and Cebu’s Edsel Montoya.

Eight others followed them with 6.0 points each – Allan Cantonjos of Ginggog, NM Reggie Olay of Kidapawan, Ibrahim Alawi of Marawi, Rhynan Arce of Cotabato, Jeriel Manlimbana of Malaybalay, Ronnie Pujas of Valencia, Japheth Aaron Caresosa of Panabo and Rodrigo Catayas of Davao.

Caresosa also earned the Best Junior player for age 20 years old below. The other special awards were Best Kiddie (Boys) – Midsayap’s Billy Samuel Ventanilla (5.0), Best Kiddie (Girls) – Midsayaps’s Vneshdyl Bureros (5.0); Best Female –Kidapawan’s Jaern Roseane Escape (4.5); Best North Cotabato based player: Allen Mirano of Aleosan (5.5); Best Senior: Marawi’s Ibrahim Alawi.

The event sanctioned by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines was held in celebration of the Kalivungan Festival. (PNA)



Comments are closed.