BFAR bans harvesting, eating of shellfish in Balita Bay in DavOr; Irong-Irong Bay and Cambatutay Bay in Western Samar; coastal waters of Dauis, Bohol and Milagros, Masbate

August 11, 2015 5:27 am 

MANILA, Aug. 10 — The Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR) has banned the harvesting, selling and eating of shellfishes collected in Balita Bay in Davao Oriental, Irong-Irong Bay and Cambatutay Bay in Western Samar, and the coastal waters of Dauis in Bohol and in Milagros in Masbate.

According to the latest bulletin from BFAR, shellfishes collected from these areas were still found to be positive of paralytic shellfish poison that is beyond the regulatory limit.

BFAR said all types of shellfish, including "alamang" harvested from the identified areas, are not safe for human consumption.

However, fish, squids and crabs are safe to eat provided they are fresh and washed thoroughly, and internal organs such as gills and intestines are removed before cooking, it said.

On the other hand, BFAR said the following areas continue to be free from toxic red tides: coastal waters of Cavite, Las Pinas, Paranaque, Navotas, Bulacan and Bataan (Mariveles, Limay, Orion, Pilar, Balanga, Orani, Abucay and Samal) in Manila Bay; coastal waters of Bolinao, Anda, Alaminos, Sual and Wawa, Bani in Pangasinan; Masinloc Bay in Zambales;

Coastal waters of Mandaon in Masbate; Juag Lagoon in Matnog, and Sorsogon Bay in Sorsogon; Honda and Puerto Bays in Puerto Princesa City, and Inner Malampaya Sound in Taytay, Palawan; coastal waters of Pilar, President Roxas, Panay, Roxas City, Ivisan, and Sapian in Capiz; Batan Bay in Aklan; coastal waters of E.B. Magalona, Pontevedra, Pulupandan, Valladolid, Talisay City, Silay City, Bacolod City, Hinigaran, Cadiz City, Victorias City, Bago City, Binalbagan and San Enrique in Negros Occidental;

Coastal waters of Gigantes Islands in Carles, Iloilo; Maqueda Bay, Villareal Bay, and coastal waters of Calbayog City in Western Samar; Matarinao Bay in Eastern Samar; Ormoc, San Pedro, Cancabato and Carigara Bays in Leyte; Biliran waters in Biliran Province; Dumanquillas Bay in Zamboanga del Sur; Tantanang Bay in Zamboanga Sibugay; Murcielagos Bay in Zamboanga del Norte and Misamis Occidental; Hinatuan, Bislig and Lianga Bays in Surigao del Sur; and Taguines Lagoon in Beboni Mahinog, Camiguin Island. (PNA)



Comments are closed.