Regional sports events resumes after last year’s cancellation

February 3, 2015 3:35 am 

BAYBAY CITY, Feb. 2 — Sporadic rainfall and gusty winds failed to dampen the festive atmosphere at the opening ceremony of Eastern Visayas Regional Athletic Association (EVRAA) on Sunday.

The occasion was significant after the sports event was cancelled last year as Leyte and Samar reeled from the devastation of typhoon Yolanda.

This city was chosen to host this year’s EVRAA as its sports facilities remain in tip-top shape as the city was one of the fortunate areas spared by the monster typhoon’s onslaught.

Student athletes, usherettes and muses in their attractive gowns as well as spectators unmindful of getting soaked as they braved the showers and went on with the entrance of the delegations.

A 44-second moment of silence was observed in honor of the 44 Special Action Force commandos who were killed in Mamasapano, Maguindanao.

Six of the Fallen 44 are from Eastern Visayas, namely, PO3 John Lloyd R. Sumbila of Sulat, Eastern Samar; PO2 Noel Balacar of Oras, Eastern Samar; PO2 Glenn B. Bedua of Dulag, Leyte; PO2 Rodel Eva Ramacula of Rosario, Northern Samar; PO1 Joseph G. Sagonoy of Silvino Lubos, Northern Samar; and PO1 Mark Lory O. Clemencito of Carigara, Leyte.

One of the speakers, Pasig City Rep. Roman T. Romulo, said that his wife, former Valenzuela Councilor Shalani Soledad who was also present, advised him to keep his message short in consideration to the athletes standing under the rain.

But he recalled how the people of Leyte showed how strong they are when they endured the rain during the open air mass of Pope Francis in Tacloban City last Jan. 17.

Gov. Leopoldo Dominic L. Petilla, for his part, said that despite the cancellation of the sports events last year, the region went on to send its athletes to the Palarong Pambansa. He was pleased with the delegation’s performance by hauling more medals and improving its ranking from the previous years despite having just survived a major calamity.

Students of Baybay National High School and Plaridel National High School treated the audience to a field demonstration. A 30-minute grand fireworks display capped the ceremonies.

There are 13 participating contingents from different divisions of the Department of Education in Eastern Visayas namely Biliran, Borongan, Calbayog, Catbalogan, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Maasin, Northern Samar, Ormoc, Samar, Southern Leyte, Tacloban and Baybay.

The delegates will compete in the next five days in 19 events to include badminton, basketball, lawn tennis, table tennis, baseball, billiards, boxing, chess, football, futsal, gymnastics, sepak takraw, softball, swimming, taekwondo, wrestling and wushu.

The closing ceremony will be on Feb. 7. (PNA)



Comments are closed.