Cebu City to give P1.8M to 6 LGUs affected by 'Seniang'

January 9, 2015 2:52 am 

CEBU CITY, Jan. 8 — The Cebu City government has allocated P1.8 million financial assistance to local government units (LGUs) affected by typhoon Seniang last December 30.

The beneficiaries include the towns of Dumanjug, Alcantara, Ronda and Sibonga in Cebu, Catbalogan City in Samar and Borongan City in Eastern Samar. Each of the local government units will receive P300,000.

The amount would be charged against the city’s local disaster fund last year.

Cebu City Councilors David Tumulak and Lea Japson, who sponsored the resolution, said the amount would somehow help rehabilitate the municipalities and cities from the great destruction brought by the “unexpected” typhoon.

The councilors said the city, being a local government unit, has a “moral duty and social responsibility” to share its available resources to the towns and cities needing assistance.

“These are areas badly damaged by Seniang and where casualties were reported. Apart from the lost lives, crops, agricultural products and government infrastructure were also damaged,” the resolution read.

The original resolution did not include Catbalogan and Borongan but Japson, upon request of Cebu City Mayor Michael Rama, amended the resolution and increased the budget from P1.2 million to P1.8 million.

Cebu City Disaster Risk Reduction Management Office executive director Simeon Romarate said the cities were included based on their recent damage assessment. (PNA)



Comments are closed.