College basketball’s best performers to be feted on Thursday (Sports)

December 4, 2014 12:22 pm 

By Jelly F. Musico

MANILA, Dec. 3 (PNA) – The top performers in college basketball converge on Thursday as the UAAP-NCAA Press Corps and SMART hold the 2014 Collegiate Basketball Awards at the Saisaki-Kamayan EDSA.

The simple rites is set at 7 p.m. to be hosted by University of Santo Tomas courtside reporter Kristelle Batchelor in the annual affair organized by college basketball scribes in recognition of the season’s best and brightest in the recently concluded UAAP and NCAA season.

The UAAP-NCAA Press Corps will also pick out among the awardees the SMART Player of the Year, the citation given to the player who showed the best qualities on and off the court, during the recognition dinner supported by Smart Sports, Accel 3XVI and Kohl Industries (Doctor J alcohol, Bactigel hand sanitizer, and Mighty Mom dishwashing liquid).

Heading the list of awardees are Eric Altamirano of National University and Boyet Fernandez of San Beda, who will be feted with the Coach of the Year award for steering their respective teams to titles in their mother leagues.

Kiefer Ravena of Ateneo and Earl Scottie Thompson of University of Perpetual Help, the Most Valuable Player winners of the UAAP and the NCAA, will also be given distinction as part of the Collegiate Mythical Team.

Joining Ravena and Thompson in the prestigious Mythical Team from the UAAP and NCAA are Ola Adeogun of San Beda, Mac Belo of Far Eastern University, and Jeron Teng of De La Salle.

Anthony Semerad of San Beda and Alfred Aroga of NU will also be honored as Pivotal Players for their play in the finals, with Glenn Khobuntin of NU, Kyle Pascual of San Beda, and Almond Vosotros of De La Salle winning the Super Senior award.

Special awards will also be given with Troy Rosario of NU awarded with the Doctor J Breakthrough Player, Jiovani Jalalon of Arellano and Gelo Alolino of NU as the Impact Players, and Baser Amer of San Beda as ACCEL Court General.

The annual event is also backed by San Miguel Corporation, UAAP Season 77 host University of the East, NCAA Season 90 host Jose Rizal University, Gatorade and the Philippine Sportswriters Association. (PNA)



Comments are closed.