President Aquino names 9 members of the Human Rights Victims' Claims Board

February 14, 2014 7:39 am 

MANILA, Feb. 13 — President Benigno S. Aquino III on Thursday named the nine members of the Human Rights Victims’ Claims Board (HRVCB) which is tasked to process, evaluate and approve applications for claims of reparation and recognition.

"President Aquino has signed the appointments of the members of the Human Rights Victims’ Claims Board," Presidential Communications Operations Office Secretary Herminio B. Coloma Jr. said during a Malacanang media briefing.

Philippine National Police (PNP) Chief Supt. Lina Castillo-Sarmiento will be chairperson of the HRVCB, Coloma said.

Its members are Wilfred Asis, Galuasch Ballaho, Byron Bocar, Jose Luis Martin Gascon, Glenda Litong, Jacqueline Veloria Mejia, Aurora Corazon Parong and Erlinda Senturias.

President Aquino signed the Human Rights Victims' Reparation and Recognition Act of 2013 into law in February 2013, in time for the 27th anniversary celebration of the 1986 EDSA People Power Revolt.

The President said the new law recognizes the heroism and sacrifices of Filipinos who were victims of gross human rights violations committed during the martial law regime of former President Ferdinand Marcos. (PNA)



Comments are closed.