DSWD Caraga serves 149,844 persons affected by TD 'Agaton'

January 20, 2014 10:23 am 

MANILA, Jan. 20 — The Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) on Sunday night said it has already served 149,844 persons from 313 barangays in the Caraga region affected by continuous rainfall of tropical depression "Agaton."

Caraga, or Region 13, is composed of the five provinces of Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur and Dinagat Islands; including the six cities of Bayugan, Butuan, Cabadbaran, Surigao, Tandag, Bislig.

According to DSWD-Caraga, there are 81,751 persons currently in 265 evacuation centers while 27,417 other affected persons are staying in other safer areas or with relatives.

The DSWD said that among the provinces heavily affected by "Agaton" is Surigao del Sur which has the highest number of persons affected, with 42,837 in evacuation centers while 32,084 other affected individuals staying in other safe areas or with relatives.

In Agusan del Norte, 40,726 persons are in evacuation centers while 36,395 other persons are staying outside.

Agusan del Sur has 32,218 affected persons in evacuation centers and 20,123 others staying outside or with relatives.

Surigao del Norte has 23,098 affected persons inside evacuation centers and 7,643 persons staying outside.

In the Province of Dinagat Islands, 10,965 persons are inside evacuation centers and 6,592 others staying in other safer areas.

The main roads going to Davao City and Surigao City are no longer passable as of Sunday night.

The DSWD quick response team is continuously monitoring the affected areas through on-site rapid assessment and coordination with the Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Councils of provinces/cities/municipalities. .

The team, composed of the community-based social workers, municipal link officers and project development officers, together with Regional Director Minda B. Brigoli continues to monitor and report the situation on 24-hour basis. (PNA)



Comments are closed.