5 nominees make it to JBC shortlist for next Sandiganbayan PJ

July 30, 2013 11:35 am 

By Perfecto Raymundo

MANILA, July 29 (PNA) — Five nominees have made it to the shortlist of the Judicial and Bar Council for the position of Presiding Justice of the Sandiganbayan to be submitted to President Benigno S. Aquino III.

During Monday's voting, Atty. Milagros Cayosa, JBC regular member, said those who made it to the shortlist were:

Court of Appeals Associate Justice Apolinario Bruselas, Jr. and Interior Undersecretary Rafael Antonio Santos, who both got six votes each;

Sandiganbayan Associate Justices Amparo Tang and Efren Dela Cruz with five votes each; while Sandiganbayan Associate Justice Gregory Ong with four votes.

Under the 1987 Constitution, President Aquino has 90 days from June 8, 2013 when Presiding Justice Francisco Villaruz, Jr. retired from the service, within which to appoint the new Sandiganbayan Presiding Justice.

Six JBC members participated in the voting, namely:

Chief Justice Maria Lourdes P. Aranal Sereno, Justice Secretary Leila M. De Lima, Atty. Cayosa, Atty. Jose Mejia, retired CA Associate Justice Aurora Santiago Lagman and Senator Aquilino Pimentel III, who represented Congress in the JBC.

The JBC should have made the voting for its shortlist last July 1, however, it was rescheduled for Monday to afford the 16th Congress the opportunity to resolve who should sit as their representative to the JBC. (PNA)



Comments are closed.