Villegas elected as new CBCP president

July 8, 2013 12:05 am 

MANILA, July 7 — Lingayen-Dagupan Archbishop Socrates Villegas has been elected as the new head of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of the Philippines (CBCP) on Sunday during the the 107th Plenary Assembly of the CBCP currently being held at the Pope Pius XII Catholic Center in Paco, Manila.

Villegas will be serving a two-year term starting December 2013 until July 2015.

He will succeed outgoing CBCP president Archbishop Jose Palma, who is in his first term to lead the conference.

Earlier, the Cebu prelate said that he does not seek to be reelected to focus on his pastoral works in his archdiocese.

“I’m going to tell the plenum to please elect somebody else. Cebu is a very big archdiocese and I have tons of work to do there but I cannot do that since I’m here,” Palma added.

Villegas was born on September 28, 1960 in Manila. He was ordained to the priesthood on October 5, 1985 and was appointed Bishop in July 25, 2001.

He was ordained Bishop in August 31, 2001 and became Auxiliary Bishop of Manila and Rector of Mary Queen of Peace, Our Lady of EDSA Shrine from December 8, 1989 to May 2004.

Villegas was appointed as Archbishop of Lingayen-Dagupan in 2009, succeeding retired Archbishop Oscar Cruz.

The president and the vice-president are elected for two-year terms and can serve for a minimum of two terms. By tradition, they are reelected for their second and last term. (PNA)



Comments are closed.