Leyte SP elects chairs of various committees

July 3, 2013 10:53 pm 

TACLOBAN CITY, July 3 — Members of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan of Leyte elected new chairs for various standing committees of the legislative body that will function for the next three years.

The committee on rules, laws and privileges will still be chaired by fifth district board member (BM) Attorney Florante Cayunda Jr who was also elected as the Majority Floor Leader.

He also chairs the committees on human rights and banking and financial industry.

His fellow board member from the fifth district, Emmanuelle Gacis, chairs the committee on Agriculture and committee on boundary dispute.

Fourth district BM Deborah Yvonne Bertulfo, remains as chairman on the committee on women, children and family affairs and was elected for chairmanship on committee on financial appropriation, coop and certification of organization.

Her fellow BM from the district, Mesias Arevalo, was elected as the chairman on the committee on public order and protective services and the committee on senior citizens.

Newly-elected BMs from the third district of Leyte will each chair two committees.

BM Allan Ang will chair the committee on infrastructure and committee on ways and means while former Leyte Governor and now board member Maria Mimmietta Bagulaya will chair the committee on environment and natural resources and the committee on heritage, culture and arts which she used to chair when she was still the presiding officer of Sangunian Panlalawigan.

Second district BMs Attorney Niccolo Villasion will chair the committee on education and blue ribbon committee while his partner BM Anlie Apostol will chair the committee on health and sanitation, committee on housing land use and informal settlers and will retain her committee chairmanship on the committee in energy, science and technology.

First termer BM in the first district Gina Merillo will chair the committee on social services while her partner BM Bob Abellanosa will chair the committee on tourism and international relation, committee on labor and employment and committee on public information.

Ex-officio members of the provincial board will retain their chairmanship while Philippine Councilors League-Leyte Chapter President Wilson Uy who chairs the committee on public utilities and committee on trade, investments and economic affairs.

Association of Barangay Chairmen Leyte Chapter President Margarita Cari will still chair the committee on barangay affairs and community development and Sangunian Kabataan Federation Leyte Chapter President Kim Serdoncillo will still head the committee on youth and sports development. (PNA)



Comments are closed.