2 PHL cycling teams leave for Malaysia race

June 24, 2013 11:09 pm 

By Lily O Ramos

MANILA, June 24 (PNA) — Continencal cycling teams Seven Eleven-Roadbike Philippines and LBCMVSF left on Monday to compete in the Jelajah Malaysia race on June 26 to 30.

The 50-year-old Jelajah Malaysia is the oldest race in Malaysia. Jelajah is the administrative capital of Putrajaya in the South Peninsula.

Following the Filipino's successful campaign at the 2013 Tour de Singkarak in West Sumatra, Indonesia last month, Seven Eleven CEO Vic Paterno and Roadbike Philippines president and PhilCycling director Bong Sual said they hope the two Philippine teams will surpass their previous performance.

Paterno's team is headed by Meadow champion and 2012 Ronda Pilipinas titlist Mark John Lexer Galedo and Le Tour de Filipinas 2012 crown holder Baler Ravina.

Accompanying them are 2013 Tour de Singkarak 6th Stage winner Ronnel Hualda, John Mark Camingao, Tour de Singkarak Sprint first runner-up Jerry Aquino Jr. and recent Philippine National Games (PNG) Road Race and Individual Time Trial (ITT) juniors champion Mark Julius Bordeous.

Playing the dual role of team manager and coach is Roadbike Philippines and PhilCycling director Ric Rodriguez.

On the other hand,the LBCMVSF squad is composed of former Asian Cycling juniors bronze medalist Rustom Lim, Ronald Oranza, Denver Casayuran, Jemico Brioso, Junrey Navarra and El Joshua Carino.

American coach Chris Allison will double up as their team manager.(PNA)



Comments are closed.