DepEd E. Visayas approves 265 private institutions to operate this school year

May 31, 2013 10:07 pm 

TACLOBAN CITY, May 31 — The education department in this region has approved the application of 265 privately-owned basic education institutions to operate this school year 2013-2014.

Majority of these learning institutions are from the province of Leyte with a total of 142; 39 in Southern Leyte; 36 in Northern Samar; 23 in Eastern Samar; 18 in Samar and seven in Biliran.

Department of Education (DepEd) regional director Luisa Bautista-Yu in a memorandum said that all names or the master list of schools with government permit will be posted in the regional office, division office, city and municipal halls, schools and in other conspicuous places, to help parents check whether the private schools where their children are presently enrolled are in a duly permitted or recognized by their department.

The DepEd official also assured that no school in the region will be allowed to accept enrollees if they have no government accreditation.

She also instructed all field officials of the education agency to monitor schools that are operating without government permit.

DepEd has the supervisory power over private institutions to ensure that these will comply with the government standards to ensure that quality education will be acquired by their learners.

Last year, DepEd had disallowed 27 private learning institutions to operate due to failure on securing government permit. Majority of which are from Leyte province with 12 private schools; six from Northern Samar; three from Eastern Samar; two from Southern Leyte and one each from Biliran province, and cities of Ormoc and Tacloban.

Since 2009, it was learned from DepEd that there are 10 private schools that voluntarily stopped their operations based on the record of DepEd Quality Assurance and Accountability Division.

Meanwhile, the list of schools in the region that were approved by the DepEd to implement increase their tuition fees are Ace Learning Center Inc. in Palompon, Albuera Private High School in Albuera, Assumption Academy in Tanauan, Bato Institute of Science and Technology in Bato, Colegio de San Francisco Javier Inc. In Palompon, East Visayan Adventist Academy in Javier, Grelina and Osmena Christian College in Hilongos, Holy Child Parish in Isabel, Holy Cross College in Carigara, Holy Trinity College in Alangalang, John F. Kennedy Memorial Foundation School Inc. in San Isidro, Notre Dame in Abuyog, Saint Joseph High School in Dagami, and St. Augustine Parish School of Matlang in Isabel and Immaculate Conception in Baybay City, all in the province of Leyte.

Colegio de Sta. Teresita in Laoang, Northern Samar; St. Michael Academy in Catarman, Northern Samar; Holy Rosary Academy of Hinunangan in Hinunangan, Southern Leyte; and Santo Nino Academy in Malitbog, Southern Leyte. St. Mary’s College of Borongan in Borongan City, Eastern Samar; St. Mary’s College of Catbalogan in Catbalogan City, Samar; St. Joseph College of Maasin in Maasin City, Southern Leyte; Ormoc Adventist Elementary School Inc. and St. Paul’s School of Ormoc Foundation Inc. in Ormoc City. (PNA)



Comments are closed.