Aquino declares June 17 special non-working day in Lapu-Lapu City

May 28, 2013 10:21 pm 

MANILA, May 28 — President Benigno S. Aquino III has declared June 17 a special (non-working) day in the city of Lapu-Lapu in the province of Cebu in celebration of its 52nd cityhood anniversary.

The Chief Executive issued the declaration to give the people of Lapu Lapu City the full opportunity to celebrate and participate in the occasion with appropriate ceremonies.

Then Sixth District of Cebu Representative Manuel A. Zosa sponsored the bill converting the former municipality of Opon into the present day city of Lapu-Lapu.

On June 17, 1961, Lapu-lapu became a city by virtue of the Republic Act 3134 signed by then Philippine President Carlos P. Garcia.

Formerly called Opon, the city was renamed after Chief Lapu-Lapu, a Muslim king who defeated Portuguese explorer Ferdinand Magellan in 1521. (PNA)



Comments are closed.