CSC now grants civil service eligibility to qualified local legislators

May 27, 2013 11:58 pm 

LEGAZPI CITY, May 27 – The Civil Service Commission (CSC) in Bicol is now granting civil service eligibilities to elected members of local legislative councils and provincial legislative boards who may qualify based on the rules and guidelines it recently set.

These legislators may now apply for eligibility with the CSC regional office here provided they are qualified, based on the Implementing Rules and Regulations (IRR) of Republic Act (RA) 10156, the law that allows members of the city and municipal councils and provincial boards a certain level of civil service eligibility.

RA 10156 or the “Act Conferring Upon Members of the Sangguniang Bayan, Sangguniang Panglungsod and Sangguniang Panlalawigan, the Appropriate Civil Service Eligibility Under Certain Circumstances, and for Other Purposes” is now in effect following the issuance of the IRR covering the Sanggunian Member Eligibility (SME) by the CSC last May 1.

Cecilia Nieto, the CSC regional director for Bicol, on Monday said the SME may be granted to Sanggunian members if they meet the required number of years of service and educational attainment as defined under RA 10156.

Nieto said the Sanggunian First Level Eligibility is equivalent to a Career Service Sub-Professional Eligibility and is granted to Sanggunian members who have served for an aggregate period of six years and have completed at least 72 academic units leading to a baccalaureate degree.

Meanwhile, the Sanggunian Second Level Eligibility corresponds to a Career Service Professional Eligibility and may be granted to those who have served for an aggregate period of nine years and also completed a baccalaureate/bachelor’s degree.

Members of the Sangguniang Bayan, Panlunsod and Panlalawigan who have been elected after the effectivity of Republic Act 7160 or the the Local Government Code of 1991 or on May 11, 1992 onwards and have met the requirements are entitled to the SME grant, Nieto said.

Under the guidelines, she said, the prescriptive period for Sanggunian members who have completed six or nine years of service is within five years from the effectivity of the IRR or in May of 2013.

For those elected in the May 2013 elections, prescriptive period shall be within two years upon meeting required number of years of service.

The computation of the aggregate years of service shall be based on the actual number of years of service per official records of the Department of the Interior and Local Government and its regional offices.

Also, the number of years of service in any and in one or more positions may be accumulated for the purpose of computing and completing the required aggregate number of years of service.

Ex-officio council or board members who were not elected — such as president of provincial, city or municipal chapter of the Liga ng mga Barangay and the Municipal Councilors League — are not entitled to the grant of eligibility, Nieto clarified.

The CSC Bicol regional office, she added, accepts applications only from qualified Sanggunian members whose last terms of office or years of services were served in the province, city or municipality within the region. (PNA)



Comments are closed.