Comelec disqualifies with finality six party-list groups

May 27, 2013 11:58 pm 

MANILA, May 27 — The Commission on Elections (Comelec) has also disqualified with finality the registration of six party-list groups.

In an interview, Comelec Chairman Sixto Brillantes said the order of the commission en banc is final and executory disqualifying the groups, Agapay ng Indigenous Peoples Rights Alliance,Inc. (A-IPRA); Ang Galing Pinoy (AG); Atong Paglaum, Inc. (Atong Paglaum); Kaagapay ng Nagkakaisang Agilang Pilipinong Magsasaka (KAP); Social Movement for Active Reform and Transparency (SMART); and The True Marcos Loyalist (for God, Country and People) Association of the Philippines, Inc. (BANTAY).

The said groups are part of the 12 party-list groups that the poll body earlier disqualified but was remanded by the Supreme Court (SC).

Out of the 12 disqualified groups, the 1st Kabalikat ng Bayan Ginhawang Sangkatauhan (1st KABAGIS) has yet to get an order which is final and executory.

Last week, the Comelec also disqualified with finality the registration of Coalition of Senior Citizens in the Philippines, Inc. (SENIOR CITIZENS); Philippine Coconut Producers Federation, Inc. (COCOFED); Abang Lingkod Party-List (ABANG LINGKOD); Binhi-Partido ng mga Magsasaka Para sa mga Magsasaka (BINHI); and Alliance for Nationalism and Democracy (ANAD).

Meanwhile, Brillantes said that they will proclaim on Tuesday at 10 am the additional winners in the party-list polls.

He said the reason why they have not announced the new set of winners on Monday, is because they are recomputing the canvassed votes.

The poll body chief was asked if there is a chance that the proclamation on Tuesday will complete the 58 seats.

Out of the 58 seats, only 44 remain vacant as the Comelec already awarded 14 seats to the top 14 winning party-list groups last Friday.

The top winners garnered two percent of the total votes cast in the party-list polls last May 13. (PNA)



Comments are closed.