Honasan to focus on improving lives of Filipinos

May 20, 2013 10:51 pm 

MANILA, May 20 – Now that the voters have given their verdict, reelected Sen. Gregorio ‘Gringo’ Honasan II on Monday encouraged his colleagues to unite and start taking measures that would improve the lives of nearly 100 million Filipinos.

”I don’t want to focus on ranking whether No. 1 senator or No. 12 senator. We are all senators. The talk now should focus on what will happen to 100 million Filipinos. What will happen to 52 million registered voters,” Honasan said in a media interview at the Senate media room.

Honasan, who placed 12th in the senatorial race, said the agenda of the next Senate should focus on public interest and will reflect on the basic problems including the disputed islands in the West Philippine sea.

”If we draw a line again, we might get lost again. The agenda of the Senate should be public interest, reflected on these basic problems. We problem with Taiwan, China, Sabah, fire, kidnapping. We should focus on these. I don’t think it will matter if its 9-3, 12-0 or 6-6,” Honasan said.

The senatorial race was dominated by the Team PNoy candidates with nine of them making it in the top 12 while Honasan and two United Nationalist Alliance (UNA) teammates Nancy Binay and JV Ejercito occupied the three remaining slots.

On the Senate leadership, Honasan said the next Senate president will be chosen not by one or two but by all the 24 senators in the next 16th Congress.

”It’s like in the campaign period, not Team PNoy or UNA decided but the people. It’s the same here in the Senate, majority of the senators will decide. I don’t think anybody is speaking with certainty,” Honasan said.

Honasan made this reaction to the statement of Sen. Miriam Defensor-Santiago who said the Senate presidency is a toss-up between Sen. Franklin Drilon and reelected Alan Cayetano.

”These are opinions of senior senators,” he added.

The next Senate will be composed of four neophytes Grace Poe, Nancy Binay, Sonny Angara, Bam Aquino, Cynthia Villar and JV Ejercito; reelected Loren Legarda, Cayetano, Francis Escudero, Aquilino ‘Koko’ Pimentel Jr., Antonio Trillanes IV and Gregorio Honasan II; and incumbents senators Franklin Drilon, Juan Ponce Enrile, Santiago, Vicente Sotto III, Sergio Osmena III, Ramon ‘Bong’ Revilla Jr., Pia Cayetano, Jinggoy Estrada, Lito Lapid, Ralph Recto, Teofisto Guingona III and Ferdinand ‘Bong’ Marcos Jr.

On the other hand, the outgoing senators include Manny Villar, Joker Arroyo, Edgardo Angara, Panfilo Lacson and Francis ‘Kiko’ Pangilinan.

Only 23 senators served in the 15th Congress due to the election of former senator Benigno Aquino III as President in the 2010 elections. (PNA)



Comments are closed.