Lanao del Sur marks no failure of election since 1987 — Comelec

May 15, 2013 10:38 pm 

MANILA, May 15 – Despite reports of tensions during canvassing of votes, the Commission on Election (Comelec) has recorded zero failure of election for the first time since 1987 in the province of Lanao del Sur.

”I have good news. For the first time in the history of this country, we’ve held election in Lanao del Sur and there is not a single failure of election,” Comelec chairman Sixto Brillantes told the media covering the official canvassing of votes at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC) on Wednesday.

Brillantes said that since 1987, there is always failure of election in Lanao del Sur, one of the five provinces under the Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).

”For the first time last May 13, there is no failure of election in the entire province of Lanao del Sur,” Brillantes said.

To ensure a clean and honest election, the Comelec conducted new general registration of voters in all city and municipalities in the ARMM, resulting in the purging of 280,000 illegitimate registrants from the original voters’ list.

The region is also composed of Basilan, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi and Maguindanao which, in the past, became center of massive election cheating and violence. (PNA)



Comments are closed.