(Leyte) Lucy poised to win, Richard loses

May 14, 2013 10:11 pm 

ORMOC CITY, May 14 — Actor Richard Gomez failed in his fourth attempt in politics when he lost the election for the mayoralty position of this city. His wife, Rep. Lucy Marie Torres-Gomez, on the other hand, is poised to win another term.

The Board of Canvassers (BOC) proclaimed Gomez’s rival, Engr. Edward C. Codilla as the duly elected mayor late afternoon of May 13.

Although there are two remaining clustered precincts left to be canvassed, BOC Chairperson Atty. Rosemarie Ann Reas-Polistico said the results from the 161 precincts already canvassed are not that significant to change the votes of the four-way mayoral race.

Codilla garnered 37,626 votes, representing 46 percent of the 81,677 actual votes casted. Coming in second is Gomez with 35,538 votes (43.5%), followed by Engr. Marcos Larrazabal with 1,695 and Mariano Tan Jr. with only 52. Ormoc’s voting population is 100,775.

In the congressional race, latest results from the same 161 precincts in Ormoc (out of 163) show a wide lead for Rep. Gomez who got 43,078 votes (54.75%), beating incumbent Mayor Eric C. Codilla (36,669 votes, 45.25%). The mayor already conceded defeat even if the count does not yet include those from six other towns in the district.

This is the fourth time Gomez was frustrated in his political plans. His first attempt was in 2001 through the partylist system via his group Mamamayan Ayaw sa Droga which was petitioned for disqualification by rival Bayan Muna and approved by the Commission on Elections (Comelec).

His second try was the Senate in 2007 as an independent candidate with dismal results at the polls. In 2010, he ran for the congressional seat of Leyte 4th District but was disqualified by Comelec because of lack of residency. His wife substituted him and won.

Aside from the mayor, the BOC also proclaimed the vice mayor and seven councilors. Gomez’s running-mate Carmelo Locsin Jr. garnered 30,988 votes (38%), beating Engr. Codilla’s running mate Dr. Dennins Capuyan (28,248 votes 34.5%) and incumbent Councilor Claudio P. Larrazabal (14,841).

Only seven councilors were proclaimed as four other candidates are contesting the three remaining spots to be determined by the results from the two clustered precincts that still have to be canvassed. The two remaining precincts — Naungan and Liloan — have 1,316 votes.

Proclaimed councilors are incumbent Vice Mayor Nepomuceno P. Aparis I who got 36,085 votes, and re-electionists Rolando Villasencio (33,779), Dr. Mario Rodriguez (32,787), Atty. Ruben Capahi (32,168). The others are incumbent Association of Barangay Captains President Antonio Codilla (28,091), and newcomers Tommy Serafica (32,800) and Bennet Pongos (29,859).

While supporters of both camps were polite not to jeer each other, the proclamation rites turned into a cheering contest nevertheless, as fans applauded the officials as they entered the hall and when their names were called. The Codilla supporters who dominated the room out-cheered the Gomez followers. (PNA)



Comments are closed.