MP Warriors of Sarangani capture Paranaque cage title

March 25, 2013 10:46 pm 

DAVAO CITY, March 25 — The MP Warriors Saranggani basketball team defeated the Celebrity squad led by actor Gerald Anderson via a 111-106 win in Game 2 of their best-of-three championship to capture the title in the first Manny Pacquiao Basketball League (MPBL) held at the Village gym in BF Paranaque recently.

The MP Warriors coached by former Davao Eagles pointguard Alvin Bonleon pocketed a whopping P300,000 cash and a trophy awarded by the 8th time world champion and congressman of Saranggani Province.

Former world-rated boxer Bobby Pacquiao played for the MP Warriors together with Louie Medalla, Bigboy Clavel, Alex Angeles, Seb Legada, Edrinal Yusop, Roi Coronel, Anton Timon, Dave Sagad, Govani Alih, RV Mangahas, Don Mendoza, Jeff Murillo and Philip Butil.

The Celebrity team, which settled for P150,000 cash was composed of Warren Ibanez,Ronjy Enrile,Nino Marquez,Gilbert Malabanan, Potch Junio and Jondan Salvador with Caloy Garcia as coach.

Peak Performance bannered by Al Vergara, Mark Yee, Jondan Salvador and Jeffrey Sanders placed third for P100,000, while MP Manila bannered by Manny Pacquiao himself, Alex Cabagnot, Ramsey Williams and Mark Andaya settled for fourth place and P75,000.

A total of eight teams joined the league organized by Keith Picazo and Jo Ramos. The MP Warriors will next see action in another league that offers a total cash prize of P500,000 in Pasig City starting April 6. (PNA)



Comments are closed.