Malacañang announces new appointments to Cebu Port Commission

March 15, 2013 10:25 pm 

MANILA, March 15 — Fresh appointments for the members of the Cebu Port Commission, which is under the Cebu Port Authority (CPA), were announced Friday by Malacañang to serve the unexpired term of office ending on June 2013.

They include Benjamin C. Akol and Marino M. Fernan (replacing Vicente T. Suazo, Jr., as members representing the shipping sector, Joselito O. Pedaria and Tomas A. Riveral as members representing the cargo handling labor sector, and Carlos G. Co as member representing the business sector.

The Cebu Port Commission is the policy-making body of the CPA, separate from the Philippine Ports Authority, which was tasked to specifically oversee all ports located in Cebu by virtue of Republic Act 7621 signed on June 26, 1992 by then President Corazon Aquino.

Deputy Presidential Spokesperson Abigail Valte said President Benigno S. Aquino III signed their appointment papers on Thursday (March 14) which were immediately transmitted to the office of Transportation and Communications Secretary Joseph Emilio Abaya. (PNA)



Comments are closed.