Binay names 10 outstanding students of Makati for 2013

March 14, 2013 10:39 pm 

MANILA, March 14 — Makati Mayor Jejomar Erwin S. Binay, Jr. will proclaim the winners of this year’s Search for Ten Outstanding Students of Makati (TOSM) in awarding ceremonies on Friday (March 15), at the Session Hall, 22nd floor of the Makati City Hall.

Binay said the search, now on its 37th year, aims to recognize students who have shown outstanding academic performance and leadership qualities, so as to highlight the youth’s pivotal role in building up the nation.

“This annual undertaking is our way of acknowledging the exceptionally talented students of Makati who have shown great leadership potential. It signifies the city’s commitment to the training and education of the youth to ensure their readiness and competence when their turn comes to lead the nation,” Binay said.

This year’s TOSM awardees are Jeryl Abong of Benigno S. Aquino High School; Ma. Queenie Anne Faye M. Galang of Fort Bonifacio High School; Kimberly Peaches P. Tenorio of Colegio De Sta. Rosa; Janine Christine DD. De Villa of St. Paul College of Makati; Christian Z. Cariño of Makati Science High School; Raphael Cecilio S. Rodolfo of Colegio San Agustin; Michelle Ann B. Eala of Assumption College; Mark Aldwin S. Albert of Don Bosco Technical Institute – Makati; Josueá Libby’s R. Mapagdalita and Joshua C. Agbon of Pitogo High School.

Selected for the JCI – Makati Leadership Awards was Ma. Queenie Anne Faye M. Galang of Fort Bonifacio High School.

The city-wide search was led by the city Youth and Sports Development Department (YSDD) headed by Ms. Marlyn King, in partnership with Junior Chamber International (JCI) headed by President Hubert Tomas Qua, and in cooperation with Bigay Pagmamahal Foundation, a non-profit organization for scholars in Makati headed by Ms. Norma Tumambing.

The awardees will receive a plaque of recognition, Paglingkuran ang Bayan medallions and gift certificates from Nailogy, Lunula, SumoSam, and Adidas Body Care.

The following criteria were used to determine the winners: Academic Excellence, 40 points; School Co-curricular Activities, 15 points; Extra-curricular Activities, 20 points; and Talent Presentation, five points; and Leadership, 20 points.

Fourth year high school students from public and private schools in Makati who were nominated by their respective schools were screened based on the guidelines approved by the organizers and the board of judges. To qualify for the search, a student must have been the following: a constant academic achiever; enrolled in the same school for four years; of good moral character; has outstanding achievements in school co-curricular and extra-curricular activities, especially those, which have given pride and honor to the City of Makati; and with good leadership skills.

The nominees were also required to submit accomplished nomination form; authenticated scholastic record (from first to fourth year); certificate of good moral character; school certification that the nominee has been a consistent academic achiever for four school years. (PNA)



Comments are closed.