PaNaTa Ko sa Bayan Awardees cited Friday

February 1, 2013 10:54 pm 

By Leilani Junio

MANILA, Feb. 1 — Social Welfare and Development Secretary Corazon Juliano Soliman led the awarding Friday of Pagkilala sa Natatanging Kontribusyon sa Bayan (PaNaTa Ko sa Bayan) to DSWD’s stakeholders and partners.

The PaNaTa Ko sa Bayan Award is given by DSWD in recognition of and gratitude for those who partnered with the DSWD in the delivery of its goals and services.

”This is our way of commending everyone with their (sic) partnership, solidarity, support in the vision of empowerment of the people,” Soliman said.

Some media organizations and media practitioners were also given GAWAD Ulat Award for their commitment in advancing the advocacy, promotion and publicity of the DSWD’s programs and services.

Soliman, however, explained they were giving the award to media practitioners who, she said, were writing "truthfully" on what the department is doing.

The winners for the Most Supportive Newspapers were the Philippine STAR, Manila Bulletin, Philippine Daily Inquirer and Business Mirror.

Cynthia Balana of the Philippine Daily Inquirer (PDI), Evelyn Macairan (Philippine STAR), Mia Gonzales (Business Mirror), Marvin Benaning (Business Mirror) and Bernadette Tamayo (Peoples Journal/Tonight) were chosen as the Most Supportive Beat Reporters from Print Media.

TV 5 is the recipient of Most Supportive TV station while UNTV Radyo La Verdad was cited as Most Supportive Radio Station.

The award for TV 5 was received by Ms. Luchi Cruz-Valdes, Head of the TV 5 News Department, who lauded Soliman’s accessibility in informing and explaining any issues, developments and strategies under DSWD even during wee hours in the morning which she acknowledges that contributed a lot to them, to deliver more than just news, but rather, actions.

The province of Leyte is the recipient of Gawad sa Makabagong Teknolohiyang Panlipunan for its role in introducing a new and effective technology deemed as best practice based on the standard set.

Bohol and Javier, Leyte were cited as winners of Gawad sa Paglilingkod sa Sambayanan (GAPAS) Awards in recognition of their contribution in implementing DSWD programs and services such as Day Care Services and KALAHI-CIDSS projects.

The Salamat po awards are commendation of donors/resource agencies and volunteers who provided assistance in the DSWD’s delivery of services as well as recognition of top NGOs with best practices worth emulating.

The winners under this category were: Best Donor-Corporate Institution whose recipient is Paul Cornelissen of the Nurture the Children Foundation of Pampanga, Inc., Best Non-Government Organization whose recipient is Friendship Home Father Luis M. Ortiz; and Best Volunteer Award given to Phil. Seven Foundation, Inc.

Best Donors from International Organizations were given recognition too.

Among them were: Australia Aid, Asian Development Bank, The World Bank, UNICEF, Millennium Challenge Corporation of the USA, UN World Food Program, Agencia Espanola de Cooperacion Internacional para el Desarrolo and Japan International Cooperative Agency. (PNA)



Comments are closed.