President Aquino to lead conferment of Quezon Service Cross award on Robredo

November 25, 2012 5:16 am 

MANILA, Nov. 24 — President Benigno S. Aquino III will lead the conferment on Monday of the Quezon Service Cross award on the late Interior and Local Government Secretary Jesse Robredo who died in a plane crash off Masbate coast last August.

Monday’s event in Malacanang marks the 100th day of the death of Robredo.

The awarding of the Quezon Service Cross on Robredo was announced by Presidential Spokesman Edwin Lacierda during a radio interview over state-run dzRB Radyo ng Bayan on Saturday.

“There will be a ceremony. This is the highest award that the Republic of the Philippines can give to any Filipino. It is an award bestowed with the approved concurrence of the two Houses of Congress,” Lacierda said.

The Quezon Service Cross was proposed by former President Manuel Roxas in honor of President Manuel L. Quezon to serve as the highest honor of the Republic.

In August 1946, President Roxas submitted a proposed Joint Resolution to Congress for the creation of the Quezon Service Cross, the highest award the Republic could bestow.

The Quezon Service Cross was created by virtue of Joint Resolution No. 4 s. 1946 enacted by both houses of Congress.

Although Congress was abolished upon the declaration of Martial Law, the Quezon Service Cross remained but was not awarded to any individual.

In the reforms of the awards system of the Republic in 2003, Executive Order No. 236 retained the original intention of President Roxas to have the Quezon Service Cross as the highest decoration of the Philippines.

In the Order of Precedence of Philippine Honors and State Decorations, the Quezon Service Cross is the top recognition a Filipino can receive from the Republic.

Three individuals were awarded prior to the abolition of the Third Republic in 1972.

Since its creation in 1946, only four people, to date, have been awarded the Quezon Service Cross. They were former President of the United Nation General Assembly Carlos P. Romulo, former Presidents Emilio Aguinaldo and Ramon Magsaysay, and the late Senator Benigno Aquino Jr., the father of the present president. (PNA)



Comments are closed.