Four-cornered fight for gubernatorial race looms in Negros Oriental in 2013

October 8, 2012 9:09 pm 

DUMAGUETE CITY, Oct. 8 –- The race for the position of governor of Negros Oriental in the May 13, 2013 mid-term elections will see a four-cornered fight with contenders that include the incumbent provincial chief executive, a former national secretary, an incumbent lady House Representative and a businessman who is running as an independent candidate.

They are incumbent Governor Roel Ragay Degamo (PDP-LABAN), incumbent Rep. Jocelyn Sy Limkaichong of the 1st district (Liberal Party), Margarito Bustaliño Teves (NPC) who was Finance Secretary during the administration of then President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, and Samuel Torres Balbuena, an independent candidate who for the umpteenth time has kept contesting the governorship in previous elections.

The four had filed their COCs on separate occasions during the recent filing period from October 1 to October 5 at the provincial office of the Commission on Elections (Comelec).

Meanwhile, records at the provincial Comelec office also show that three candidates who have filed their COCs will be contesting the position of vice governor. They are incumbent Vice Governor Apolinario Arnaiz, Jr. (NPC), Edward Mark Lopez Macias (LP), and Henry Alegria Sojor (PDP-LABAN).

Candidates for House Representative are the following:

For the 1st district – Lowell Anfone Andaya (Independent), Manuel Mariño Iway (LP), former Rep. Jerome Villegas Paras (NPC) and Danilo Casipong Roble (Independent);

For the 2nd district – Raul Silorio Aniñon (Independent), incumbent Rep. George Planto Arnaiz (NPC) and Karen Fabugais Villanueva (LP), who is currently the mayor of Bais City, Negros Oriental;

For the 3rd district – Marcelo Galicano Adanza (LP), a former Board Member and Zamboanguita mayor, and incumbent Rep. Henry Pryde Alipit Teves (NPC).

The candidates for member of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan who filed their respective COCs are as follows:

1st district: Amor Anfone Baldado (NP), Napoleon Neri Camero (NP), Rouie David Dayucos delos Santos (Independent), Liland Zoila Bustamante Estacion (LP), Jessica Jane Villanueva Koppin (LP), Georgita Fabugais Martinez (LP), Joselito John Marie Villegas Paras (NP);

2nd district: Ely Cabio Cabanag (LP), Elan Narciso Cadayday (LP), Joinny Donato Cahilog (Independent), Rommel Logronio Erames (NPC), Mariant Escaño-Villegas (NPC), Erwin Michael Lopez Macias (NPC), Agustin Miguel Araneta Perdices (LP), Orlando Veloso Remollo (LP), Melliemoore Maicom Saycon (NPC), Miguel Angel Diaz Teves (PDP LABAN), Arturo Valencia Umbac (PDP LABAN), Fritzie Daryl Lumjod Zanoria (PDP LABAN);

And for the 3rd district – Telesforo Yasay Diao, Jr. (LP), Edmund Ferraren Dy (NPC), Peve Obañana Ligan (NPC), Clayborne Clyde Lim Lim (LP), Edita Maria Aranda Vera (PDP LABAN), Erwin Bernus Vergara (PDP LABAN), Dexter Bendijo Villamor (NPC), and Teopisto Ray Lajato Yap III (LP).

Provincial Election Supervisor Atty. Eddie Aba had disclosed earlier that a total of 277 elective positions are up for grabs in Negros Oriental in the May 13, 2012 polls and these are for governor, vice governor, Provincial Board members (10 province-wide), House of Representatives (three congressional districts), city and municipal mayors (25), city and municipal vice mayors (25), and a total of 212 city and municipal councilors of each of the six cities and 19 municipalities of the province. (PNA)



Comments are closed.