Nominees for Chief Justice post now 27

June 16, 2012 1:06 am 

By Perfecto T. Raymundo Jr.

MANILA, June 15 – There are now 27 nominees for the position of Chief Justice of the Supreme Court (SC) vacated by former Chief Justice Renato C. Corona.

Topping the list are the five most senior SC justices namely: Associate Justices Antonio T. Carpio, Presbitero J. Velasco, Jr., Teresita Leonardo-De Castro, Arturo D. Brion and Diosdado M. Peralta.

Atty. Maria Carolina Katrina T. Legarda was endorsed by professor Myrna Feliciano, Erlyn A. Sana, Bernadette J. Madrid, Louis J. Montero, Atty. Farah Decano, Dean Soledad Deriquito-Mawis and Eliseo Dizon.

Legarda has accepted the nomination.

Prosecutor Marianito S. Sasondoncillo was endorsed by Mark M. Sasondoncillo. However, he declined the nomination.

Ateneo De Manila University College of Law Dean Cesar Villanueva was endorsed by Ramon Torralba, Jr. and Atty. Pete S. Principe.

Solicitor General Francis Jardeleza was endorsed by Dean Danilo Concepcion, Salvador Carlota, Pacifico Agabin, Froilan Bacungan and Merlin M. Magallona.

Retired Judge Manuel Siayngco, Jr. was endorsed by Mario dela Cruz.

Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR) Commissioner Kim S. Jacinto-Henares was endorsed by Atty. Elpidio C. Jamora, Jr., Jose Anselmo I. Cadiz and Ernesto Romero.

University of the Philippines (UP) College of Law Dean Raul C. Pangalangan was endorsed by Danilo L. Concepcion and Florin T. Hilbay. He has accepted the nomination.

Professor Rafael A. Morales was endorsed by Florentino Feliciano. He has accepted the nomination.

Department of Justice (DOJ) Secretary Leila M. De Lima was endorsed by the Volunteers Against Crime and Corruption (VACC) and the Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP)- Zambales Chapter.

Atty. Nepomuceno P. Aparis was endorsed by a concerned citizen.

Atty. Roan I. Libarios was endorsed by Atty. Dante Mercado.

SC Associate Justice Maria Lourdes P. Sereno was endorsed by Felma Roel R. Singco, Reagan D. De Guzman and Atty. Fidel Thaddeus I. Borja.

Former Solicitor General Frank I. Chavez was endorsed by Melchor Magdamo and Manuel V. Baviera.

Atty. Rodolfo D. Robles was endorsed by Atty. Ricardo Marasigan.

Professor Marvic Mario Victor F. Leonen, Chair of the government peace negotiating panel with the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF), was endorsed by Vicente R. Romano III, Leah Navarro and Judge Christina P. Castaneda.

University of the East (UE) College of Law Dean Amado D. Valdez was endorsed by Saeed A. Daof.

Atty. Pedro Aquino was endorsed by Nemesia B. Cuerdo.

SC Associate Justice Jose Portugal Perez was endorsed by David So and Purisimo S. Buyco.

Former Makati City (1st District) Rep. Teodoro “Teddy Boy” Locsin, Jr. was endorsed by Atty. Brigido J. Dulay, Jr. and Jonathan Dela Cruz.

SC Associate Justice Roberto A. Abad was endorsed by Atty. Nilo T. Divina.

Commission on Elections (Comelec) Commissioner Rene V. Sarmiento was endorsed by Zeneida Quezon-Avancena and Atty. Romeo D.C. Candazo.

Former Department of Energy (DOE) Secretary Raphael P. Lotilla was endorsed by Calixto Chikiamco.

Aside from Legarda, Pangalangan and Morales, all the other nominees have yet to accept their respective nomination as of Friday.

On the other hand, Jocelyn C. Esquivel, a nurse, who applied for the position herself, was disqualified because she is not a lawyer by professional training.

Former Court of Appeals (CA) Associate Justice Hilarion Aquino, who was endorsed by, was also disqualified because he will turn 80 years old on Oct. 21, 2012. (PNA) CTB/PTR/utb


Comments are closed.