President Aquino administers oath of office to Dellosa, 26 other new generals

February 20, 2012 11:50 pm 

MANILA, Feb. 20 – Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) Chief of Staff Lt. Gen. Jessie D. Dellosa and Commanding General of Philippine Army Lt. Gen. Emmanuel T. Bautista, with 25 newly promoted generals, flag officers, and reserve force commanders, took their oath of office before President Benigno S. Aquino III on Monday in Malacanang Palace, Manila.

The oath-taking was held to “formalize” the promotion of star-rank officers of the AFP.

With the Chief of Staff and the Philippine Army (PA) were eight Major Generals/Rear Admirals who also took their oath.

Among them were Maj. Gen. Cipriano D. Gundao, Chief of the Air Logistics Command; Rear Admiral Miguel Jose S. Rodriguez, Deputy Chief of Staff for Civil Military Operations; Maj. Gen. Jose Z. Mabanta, Commander of 3rd Infantry Division; Maj. Gen. Eduardo D. Del Rosario, Commander of 2nd Infantry Division; Rear Admiral Edgardo T. Tamayo, Deputy Chief of Staff for Logistics; Maj. Gen. Raoul J. Reyes, Deputy Chief of Staff for Personnel; and Maj. Gen. Roy O. Deveraturda, Deputy Chief of Staff for Plans.

They were also joined by 14 Brigadier Generals and Commodores, namely Brig. Gen. Joselito P. Avancena, Commander of the AFP Medical Center; Brig. Gen. Roberto T. Almadin, Chief of the Joint Peace and Security Coordinating Center Liaison;

Brig. Gen. Manuel Luis M. Ochotorena, Assistant Division Commander of 6th Infantry Division; Brig. Gen. Richard C. Siga-an, Chief AFP Pension and Gratuity Management Center; BGen Elmer R. Amon, Deputy Commander, WesCom; Commodore Elmer C. Carrillo, Commander of the Naval Construction Brigade.

Commodore Alexander S. Lopez, Commander Joint Task Force Malampaya; Commodore Crispin P. Mercado, Deputy Inspector General; Brig. Gen. Leopoldo Santos Jr, Commander of CEISSAFP; Commodore Abraham Celzo, Commander of the Naval Forces Southern Luzon; Brig. Gen. Emeraldo C. Magnaye, Commander of the 530th Air Brigade Wing; Brig. Gen. Romeo D. Taguinod, Air Force Internal Auditor; Brig. Gen. Normando Sta. Ana, the AFP Surgeon General; and Brig. Gen. Herbert S. Yambing, the AFP Provost Marshall General.

Three reservist generals also took their oath, particularly Brig. Gen. Ismael Tumaru, Commander of the 2nd Technical Administrative Service Brigade in NOLCOM; Commodore Marfenio Tan, Commander of the Naval Affiliated Reserve Force-Eastern Mindanao; and Brig. Gen. Antonio L. Tamayo, Commander of the 1st AFP Affiliated Medical Center.

The 27 generals and flag officers, after taking their oath, proceeded to the AFP General Headquarters (GHQ) in Camp Aguinaldo, Quezon City where they were given arrival honors.

In the arrival honors and the courtesy call held in the GHQ, Dellosa reminded the promoted generals to further strengthen their commitment and dedication to their duties.

“As we accept our new ranks and utter our oath, we have likewise accepted the responsibilities and duties that come with them. Hence, we must always bear in mind the weight of expectations that each star on our shoulders amounts to,” said Dellosa.

He also commended and recognized the commanders for their achievements in the service of their duties.

“And while this promotion gives us more authority in return of what we have already achieved, it also calls for an obligation on our end to be role models to the men and women under our leadership,” Dellosa said. (PNA) RMA/JCA


Comments are closed.