March 2 declared as special non-working day in La Union in celebration of its 162nd Foundation Day

February 20, 2012 11:50 pm 

MANILA, Feb. 20 — President Benigno S. Aquino III has declared March 2, 2012 which falls on a Friday as a special non-working day in the province of La Union in celebration of the 162nd Foundation Day of the province.

In Proclamation No. 334 signed by Executive Secretary Paquito N. Ochoa Jr. on February 13, the President issued the declaration to give the people the full opportunity to celebrate and participate in the occasion with appropriate ceremonies.

The province was created in 1850 when the Spanish colonial government of Governor-General Antonio Maria Blanco merged the southern towns of Ilocos Sur province, the northern towns of Pangasinan, and the western towns of Benguet to the east.

The name La Union indicates the union of towns from different provinces. (PNA)



Comments are closed.