5 Zamboangueño young leaders cited as modern Roseller Lim

February 10, 2012 11:00 pm 

ZAMBOANGA CITY, Feb. 10 – Five young Zamboangueño leaders were conferred on Thursday night the Senator Roseller T. Lim award, highlighting the commemoration of the 6th Dia de Roseller T. Lim in this southern port city.

Dubbed as the Five Outstanding Zamboangueño Young Leaders (FOZYL), the award is a tribute to the exemplary character of the first and only Zamboangueño senator–Roseller T. Lim, and is a joint project of the city government and the Junior Chamber International (JCI) Zamboanga.

The FOZYL is conferred on youths who possess qualities of leadership, excellence and commitment to service epitomized by the late Sen. Lim.

Mayor Celso Lobregat together with House Deputy Speaker for Mindanao and first district Congresswoman Ma. Isabelle Climaco-Salazar, Councilor Rodolfo Lim–nephew of the late senator, and JCI-Zamboanga president Marlo Atilano, personally handed over the plaques and cash prizes to each of the five outstanding leaders.

The awardees are: Ronald Csar F. Villano; Ellery Ivan Apolinario; Kevin Roy Jimera; Fatimah Al-Zahra Ditti; and, Adrian S. Uro during feting rites held at the Balrrom Hall of the Garden Orchid Hotel.

Villano, is a nursing student and a human rights advocate from Western Mindanao State University (WMSU).

He was conferred as Top 4 Activist of the Year by the Amnesty International-Philippines and was 3rd Best Adjudicator during the 20th Mindanao Parliamentary Debate.

Villano also served as the Head Organizer of the Bottle Run: Bottles to Win the Battle for Mommy aside from serving as President of the Nursing Debate Society and Senator of the University Student Council.

Apolinario is a medical student and an advocate of safe water and sanitation.

Apolinario's leadership experiences include serving as President of the Student Government of the School of Medicine at Ateneo de Zamboanga University (ADZU) and as Team Leader for the Community Affairs and Outreach in Mutia Zamboanga del Norte.

He was also declared as Best Debater during the Zamboanga Parliamentary Debate Open.

Jimera served as Secretary for Department of Peace, Environment, Social Action and Leadership of the El Consejo Atenista.

He is a recipient of several awards to include JCI Batang Lider Award, Award for Exemplary Leadership from the Department of Education and the Gerry Roxas Leadership Award.

He is the founder of the Books para sa KinaBOOKasan Project, a Coordinator of the Ateneo Student Leader Assembly and Head Organizer of the LIYAB Leadership Workshop.

Aside from being one of the Most Socially Responsible Zambaongueños, Jimera was also the Best Director of the Ateneo Documentary Film.

Ditti, the only female awardee this year, is one of the 20 Mindanaoan Youth to attend the PYLP Year 6 at Chicago, Illinois and Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.

She is also one of the five Filipino Youth to attend the OXFAM International Youth Partnership at New Delhi, India aside from being one of the three participants from Region 9 to be chosen as part of the official contingent for the 8th National Youth Parliament Participant in Butuan City.

She is one of the Top 10 Activists of the Year as conferred by Amnesty International Philippines and also Head Organizer of the Bottle Run: Bottles to Win the Battles for Mommy.

Meanwhile, Uro is a registered nurse and college instructor at ADZU.

He graduated last year as Salutatorian and Cum Laude and a recipient of the Maria Clara Lorenzo Lobregat Awards for Excellence and the Representative Erico Basilio A. Fabian Most Outstanding Students in Zamboanga City.

He is an outstanding student of the year with proficiency in debate, journalism and literary work who also served as Vice President of the Ateneo Debate Union for two terms and Associate editor of the Beacon News Magazine and Pacemaker Magazine.

The five outstanding young leaders were adjudged according to their character and leadership capacity.

Lobregat, in his message, expressed elation on the quality of leadership that Senator Lim exemplified and challenged the awardees to emulate the same.

“Senator Lim was the kind of leader who did not sell his principles, he was a leader who cannot be bought,” Lobregat said.

The event was graced by the family of the late senator together with some City Officials and Officers and members of JCI Zamboanga.

The awarding rite was the culminating event for the Dia de Roseller Lim celebration which kicked off with a mass at the St. Joseph Church followed by the wreath laying ceremony at the late senator’s monument in Normal Road in the morning Thursday. (PNA) LAP/Teofilo P. Garcia/utb


Comments are closed.