Albay releases list of 2011 Students Excellence Award finalists

September 6, 2011 10:01 pm 

LEGAZPI CITY, Sept. 6 – The Provincial Education Department (PED) of Albay announced Tuesday the 15 finalists for the 2011 Student Excellence in Academics and Leadership or SEAL.

They are: Kathrina Maye Ravago (Polangui GCHS); Mary Angeline Abareta (MORMS); Christian Rey Notario (MORMS); Marlex Tuson (MORMS); Christian Dy (MORMS); Tam Ronald Alviar (Pagasa NHS); Kier Obang (St. Agnes Academy); Frances Nikki Amurao (Aquinas USHS);

Jervy Anne Romero (Ligao NHS); Ralf Grandon Dy (Ligao NHS); Antonio Angelo Rabe (Ligao NHS); Jedah Mae Averila (Tabaco NHS); Glanelle Iy Cea (Tabaco NHS); Vanessa Mae Barrameda (Tabaco NHS); and Joanne Diaz (Tabaco NHS).

The finalists are set to face the final stage of the competition wherein they will subject to project defense and panel interview. The judges will announce the 10 excellent students in academics and leadership after evaluation and assessment of their project proposal plus result of the individual panel interview.

SEAL is given to students who show others how, even at young age, they can be significant and positive contributors to the school and the community. This award is part of the annual Gawad Albay sa Edukasyon.

Gawad Albay sa Edukasyon is a program of Governor Joey Salceda that recognizes and rewards the significant contributions of teachers, principals, students and local government units to the cause of quality education.

Other categories of Gawad Albay sa Edukasyon are Ten Outstanding Teachers, a continuing search for teachers who best exemplify the teaching profession and a source of inspiration to students and the community; Three Outstanding Principals whose leadership and vision have made their school true bastion of learning; and the Kadunong award that is given to local government units in the province with best practices in education program,, projects or activities with significant impacts on the lives of their constituents.

The awarding ceremony is scheduled on October 5, in celebration of World Teachers’ Day. (PNA)



Comments are closed.